PDA

View Full Version : RRENCODE plugin - release date



Yuval Shrem
09-17-2013, 06:28 PM
When is the projected release date of the RRENCODE plugin?
On the product page in the RED web store it says "Coming Soon".
When is soon?

I have a 4k project that was shot on RED and posted in Adobe, and I want to export it at 4k REDCODE, for playback on REDRAY.
I don't have a REDRAY player and don't need to own one at the moment, but I'd like to be able to encode our project to be played back on REDRAY.
Will that plugin work for that purpose?
When is it going to be released?
Will there be an Adobe plug-in version to work inside of Adobe Encoder, or will it only work in Redcine-X Pro?

Thanks,

Eric Santiago
04-18-2014, 02:25 PM
Revisiting this question.

I cant seem to find my RRENCODE plugin with the REDRAY we took delivery off.

It doesnt show up in our account either.

Christopher Barrett
04-18-2014, 02:56 PM
I had some difficulty with this and Clark set me straight. You won't have the plugin attached to your account until you register your RedRay through it's interface. Also, you have to go back to RC-X 20b2 (I believe) for the plugin functionality. Here are the links Clark gave me...

MAC: http://red.cachefly.net/redcinex/appcast/mac/rr/REDCINE-X_PRO_Build_20.2.pkg

Win 32 bit: http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fred.cachefly.net%2Fredcinex%2 Fappcast%2Fwin%2Frr%2FREDCINE-X_PRO_Build_20.2_32-bit.msi&h=oAQH6mQ1V
Win 64 bit: http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fred.cachefly.net%2Fredcinex%2 Fappcast%2Fwin%2Frr%2FREDCINE-X_PRO_Build_20.2_64-bit.msi&h=tAQGwOAni

Once you have the old version up and running, go into preferences and the plugin download interface is under "Plugins". It will then ask you for your RED.com login / password... but remember the plugin won't be available until you've registered the player to your account.

Also... you need to rename your current RC-X folder or move it to keep the new (old) version from overwriting it. Hopefully the guys will get the plugin sorted out for RC-X 30 soon.

Eric Santiago
04-18-2014, 03:02 PM
Thanks Christopher, I currently have a support ticket on our RR due to network connectivity.

Cant get ours on a network.

We sent them a service log from the unit.

Thanks again we will try this asap.

Blair S. Paulsen
04-18-2014, 03:10 PM
Can we get an official note from the RedTeam on current status of RRencode plug-in options?

Obviously I'd rather have a B30 compliant option vs the B22 workaround described above, but if that's not available now, nor is there one close to release, then call me Mr. Kludge ;-)

Cheers - #19

Clark Dunbar
04-18-2014, 03:11 PM
Hi Mr. Kludge

Blair S. Paulsen
04-18-2014, 03:13 PM
hehe

Cheers - Mr. Kludge

Blair S. Paulsen
04-25-2014, 04:57 PM
Just about to bite the bullet and go the B22 route so I can author .RED out of RCX.

Any chance there might be a B30 rev coming soon (within a week or two) that supports the RRencode plugin…?

Is it original Rocket only? RR-X? Are there any drivers, firmware, OS variants, etc that need to be rolled back?

If you have been authoring .RED successfully, please share your configuration and any tips.

Cheers - #19

Jeff Kilgroe
04-26-2014, 11:13 AM
Hopefully we'll see proper RRencode support in the next release build. No Rocket acceleration, or acceleration of any other kind, available for encoding. Of course, having the Rocket still accelerates the decoding of R3Ds in RC-X within the process of creating your .REDs.