PDA

View Full Version : Opera and RED



Chris Forbes
01-05-2007, 11:21 AM
I just upgraded my browser to Opera 9.1 and it has a new feature that is supposed to warn you if your on a fraud site.

RED.com comes up as a fraud when I go to it. Is opera made by Sony :rolleyes:

This is the warning:

The page you are trying to open has been blacklisted as fraudulent.
It will likely attempt to trick you into sharing personal or financial information.
We strongly discourage visiting this page.

Eugene
01-05-2007, 11:50 AM
I guess it is true.
http://www.komotv.com/news/tech/4945882.html
Weird.
This sound like a job for the "fire chief."
What is a reduser fanboy to do? Who am I to trust, Red or Opera? Answer: Red
Looks like Jarred will be working overtime this weekend figuring out how Opera works.
Jarred better look into PhishTank.com. Looks like that is where Opera gets its scam list list from.
http://www.phishtank.com/
I tried to type http://red.com into their search engine, but Safari (Apple browser) wouldn't let me. :(
Chris, you are pulling my leg, right?
Time to charge Jim more for his avatar, due to all the disruptive fires on the weekend.
http://www.arcticsilver.com/images/titan_without_label.jpg

goldyprog
01-05-2007, 11:54 AM
Very weird. BTW, I haven't heard of Opera. Sounds like a well-known browser. That said, this is very, very strange when you think about it. Hopefully the Red team can figure it out.

Jason Ramsey
01-05-2007, 12:12 PM
We have Opera 9.01 on this computer at work. I just tried it. It worked fine. Actually the first time, it took me to about. daiting. blah, blah. I typed the address again, and it brought me right to reduser

Jason

It must just be 9.1

Finner
01-05-2007, 12:12 PM
Does anyone know how OPERA comes to the determination of a site being fraudulant (Is it customer complaint based?). I personally have not heard of any complaints from someone who has asked for their deposit back and not recieved it, but I also have not heard of anyone asking for their deposit back at all. A fraud of this size seems like way way to much work, would cost too much and would destroy too many peoples names that they have worked hard to build up. It seems to me that a fraud charge on Red would be very speculative and not far off of deformation.

Chris mentions the fraud charge being on the www.red.com site not the red user site. I don't have OPERA but if you have it can you try it on the red.com site and let us know what you find.

Jason Ramsey
01-05-2007, 12:24 PM
red.com works on 9.01 of opera. I don't know about 9.1.

I went to that phishtank site linked above. There is no listing for red.com. It is NOT listed on that site as a phishing site.

Jason

Mardi_Gras
01-05-2007, 01:11 PM
I just upgraded to 9.10 and yes, it does list red.com as a fraudulent site. But again, I discovered the reporting system is not foolproof; for instance, once you enable the new fraud protection feature, it automatically scans whatever website you visit and only list sites that users have reported to be fraudulent without any third party verification. So its very easy for somebody with a malicious intent to report your site under whatever guise they deem fit and there you go... on the list. I hope Opera fixes this soon.

Meantime, Jim can sure do something about it.

Chris Forbes
01-05-2007, 01:32 PM
I hope this is some kind of database mistake. But it only happened when I upgraded to 9.1. Opera does have a reporting feature if you want to list a fraud site, but not if you want to dispute a listing. But it seems this should be legally actionable. Maybe someone had the domain before the red camera guys.

Jared VanLeuven
01-05-2007, 03:32 PM
A lot of browsers are going to be implementing anti-phishing enhancements in the near future.

Stephen Gentle
01-05-2007, 04:25 PM
I tried the red site in Opera 9.1 and it gave me no warning...


... I discovered the reporting system is not foolproof; for instance, once you enable the new fraud protection feature, it automatically scans whatever website you visit and only list sites that users have reported to be fraudulent without any third party verification. So its very easy for somebody with a malicious intent to report your site under whatever guise they deem fit and there you go... on the list. ...
That would probably be the reason. There are a lot of red sceptics, and a lot of people who would like to see it fail who would do this :(

-Stephen

Rob Lohman
01-06-2007, 03:13 AM
You need to enable their fraud "detection" system for this to happen. We are looking into this. It appears to be a false positive since we are not on their blacklist, we are actually on their white list.

Mardi_Gras
01-06-2007, 04:48 AM
You need to enable their fraud "detection" system for this to happen. We are looking into this. It appears to be a false positive since we are not on their blacklist, we are actually on their white list.

Like I said Rob, it doesn't seem to me like a foolproof system. So if you guys are looking into it, then that's cool. We don't want that type of distraction in these wee hours of our Red dawn.