PDA

View Full Version : editing in premiera on pc



soniczano
07-22-2008, 08:49 PM
I know I am the minority in the industry, but I edit on a PC with Premier Pro and AE. I have never edited red footage before. I know I will have to do upgrades and am looking for price friendly suggestions on the video card. I am sadly only running an NVidia 6200 =(

Also, what should I expect for workflow with Redcine? Is this a program I have to buy, or is bundled software that I could get from the Red owner? And how does it integrate with Premier.

I know that is a lot of questions...any suggestions will help.

Bo Randers
07-22-2008, 11:49 PM
Hi

You can use Adobe Premeire. Go to www.cineform.com and you will get the info you need.

Best Regards

Bo Randers.

www.tvteknik.dk

Antoine Baumann
07-23-2008, 03:36 AM
what is your computer cpu, ram, hdd?

the cheapest/efficient solution for the video card is (IMO) is the geforce 7900 GT or the 8800 GT (or GTX, or whatever letter).
But if your cpus are too old, it might be a good idea to buy new computer.

To edit with premiere I would import all r3d clips in redcine (that you can download free from www.red.com/support) choose 720p project, scale down all the clips to 720p, set the right parameters for olpf/noise/details, do a quick color correction, set the output to be qt (choose the codec you like best to work with in premiere, for me this is mjpeg), put the quality render to draft, put the viewing in quarter high, set the render output directory put the original clip name in the rendered offline clips and hit render.

For cineform there is some instruction here:
http://www.cineform.com/products/TechNotes/RedcineExports.htm
and here:
http://www.cineform.com/products/TechNotes/Red-Prospect4K.htm

And there you will find video tuto of redcine:
* http://red.cachefly.net/redcine/interface_overview.mov
* http://red.cachefly.net/redcine/project_settings.mov
* http://red.cachefly.net/redcine/shot_settings.mov
* http://red.cachefly.net/redcine/color_settings.mov
* http://red.cachefly.net/redcine/output_settings.mov
* http://red.cachefly.net/redcine/library.mov


ciao,
antoine

soniczano
07-23-2008, 08:36 AM
I am on an intel 6300 dual core, 2Gb ram, 10,000rpm hard drive for my programs drive, and of course that 6200 NVidia.

I didn't realize I could edit red footage on something like a 7900GT. I assumed I would have to go much higher than that.

Thor Wixom
07-23-2008, 02:18 PM
Go to freshdv.com. Find the 3ware NAB video. Watch it ALL the way through... past the commercial in the middle.

In the last segment you will see realtime 2k and 4k in the background, playing from the Premiere Pro timeline on a Windows machine.

The clips had color correction, dissolves, and a 50% transparent title overlay... that were all playing *without* rendering.

To do this, you may need to upgrade your system to dual quadcores.

Personally, I will be using the GoFlex laptop from 1Beyond, which was demo'd at NAB in the Cineform booth, doing realtime 4k editing (Windows + Premiere, also).

-Thor

chocblu
07-23-2008, 07:58 PM
In regards to the video card,

As far as i know most video editing applications dont rely on the video card at all. They all just use the CPU and memory systems heavily. So the graphics card you have aint gonna make a huge amount of difference. Of course if its a really bad one it wil, but if your in the ball park then it shouldnt make to much of a difference. AND if you dont have fast hdd throughput then the video card aint gonna see the data to do anything with.

There are a few formats (OpenEXR i think?) that would take advantage of the GPU and Scratch and high end DI definatly do. But Premier? to much hassle for adobe.

Cheers
Mark

soniczano
07-24-2008, 03:09 PM
Thanks all!!