PDA

View Full Version : Red raw data space

Michael Chenery
09-10-2008, 05:43 PM
I am trying to understand the best way to work with Red raw data. I am a product expert for the cineSpace CMS and have had a number of questions from customers asking what is the correct colour space to view raw data from Red One camera.

Here is an example ...
----------------------------------------------
We have two acquisition formats shot side-by-side. 10-bit DPX film scans from Technicolor (TDI) and raw data from a Red One camera. We are color correcting in Assimilate’s Scratch system.

Profiling the Cine-tal monitor at the DCI 1.0 went fine. Outputting a LUT from cineCube Visual went fine. Importing the .xml LUT into Scratch was fine. Correction film scans was fine.

When we switched to the Red data the colors within the image were not reacting as expected. We re-output a new LUT from cineCube with a custom LUT (Gamma2.2 to log) profile selected. Looks better. Do you have any gems of advice concerning the Red raw data?
----------------------------------------------

To get an accurate emulation of the print film we need to convert the raw data into log space. To do this cineSpace uses a pre-transform. To create this pre-transform correctly we need to know the characteristics of the raw data space particularly the tonal curve (gamma).

Does the raw data from the Red One camera have a native gamma response? or does it use a specified curve like Rec.709?

I don't seem to ba able to track this sort of data down easily. And was hoping someone here might know.

Also what is the recommended way of dealing with this sort of thing where material from a number of sources (film neg, Red One, etc) needs to be 'conformed' so that it can be graded together.

Any help would be most appreciated.
Thanks,
Mike

Cüneyt Kaya
09-10-2008, 05:50 PM
you can have a look to the redlog LUT available in the download package of rednode
http://www.red.com/support
or ask lucas from assimilate

Graeme Nattress