PDA

View Full Version : Interesting blog about 'Color'

Joe Carney
04-24-2007, 02:42 PM
Stu Maschwitz (creator of Colorista) has some interesting info on Color.

http://prolost.blogspot.com/2007/04/color-my-impression.html

Craig W. Bickerstaff
04-24-2007, 03:35 PM
Sounds like moaning to me, But hey maybe he's just coming off as another John C. Dvorack

Stu Maschwitz
04-24-2007, 03:38 PM
Dude, that's just cold blooded. :)

Believe it or not, I was trying to make productive suggestions for how Apple could improve the thing. Far be it from me to complain about Apple giving out a $25K app for free!

-Stu

Simon Blackledge
04-24-2007, 03:42 PM
stu, I got a bit confused with the realtime quicktime on apples site.. then you say its not ? was the demo just SD ?

..And what setup did Chris have to do that, that long ago! lol

Stu Maschwitz
04-24-2007, 03:44 PM
I'm no expert on how Color does its monitoring, but Chris's comment was not the first time I've heard that adding a video out slowed playback performance. I've asked a question on the creative cow forum in hopes of clarifying the situation.

-Stu

Simon Blackledge
04-24-2007, 03:46 PM
Unless ya spending over 200k there's always a "secret" ain't there! ..tut

Robert Sanders
04-24-2007, 03:47 PM
Never mind.

Bruce Allen
04-24-2007, 04:03 PM
Stu, great to see you here! Excellent article.

Summary: wait till Apple gets their GPU and software game together - only then will you have realtime. Lustre has realtime secondaries already on PC. Come Apple, get with the current graphics card generation!

Ah, what do I care... this all falls into my plan to wait until the end of next year before buying anything anyway.

Bruce Allen
www.boacinema.com

Poi Boy
04-24-2007, 07:37 PM
I'm sure the real time issue will be fixed down the road. For now I consider it a fair trade for a $25K discount.
Aloha
-A

Thomas Mathai
04-24-2007, 08:26 PM
Sounds like moaning to me, But hey maybe he's just coming off as another John C. Dvorack