PDA

View Full Version : Some thoughts from a film student

Juhan Malmstein
11-11-2008, 07:31 AM
As a film student I'd like to put down some of the things I'd like to see on the DSMC.

A full-frame sensor would rock a lot of boats for several reasons: it'd allow to use any existing lens(I dream of the day when I can use my 16mm Zenitar fisheye to shoot snowboarding for example) + it would allow those of us who aren't established professionals yet to spare money by using older photo lens(the amount of for example m42 thread photo lens that have brilliant optics, manual iris and manual focus is astonishing + they are dirt cheap.) And I cant say this enough - if you are taking the photo side of this camera seriously it has to have at least a crop sized sensor that you could use existing lens on.

High-iso capabilities. That is one thing that made me look into the Canon 5dmII seriously when it came out - it can go up to iso 25600(useless because of the noise), but the levels of noise are really impressive at iso 3200. A sensor so sensitive combined with for example a 50mmf1.4 lens can provide the photographer/cinematographer with the freedom to shoot in almost any light, anytime, without the need for a truckload of lighting equipment.

As for the movie side of the camera, it'd be cool if it had a sound input so you could plug in your boom microphone or radio microphones straight into the camera, as syncronising sound and picture in post is a true pain in the ass if you use for example a tascam or an equivalent of it.

For me the ability to shoot super high resolution video on the DSMC isn't important at all. 3k would be cool, but how many of you actually have a place to screen 3k footage, or to put it in more correct terms, does your audience have the possibility to view 3k footage? probably not, and wont have for the next few years. If the DSMC could do 1080p at 120fps that'd be enough for me to cream my pants. And look for a shady guy to sell my kidney to, to buy one.