PDA

View Full Version : Red URL in an email is being marked as spam by Spamhaus.org



Paul Leeming
05-01-2007, 08:52 AM
Just wanted to post a notice to anyone who may be missing emails they think should have arrived from Red - your email may in fact have been marked as spam by an overzealous spam filter at your inbound mail server end.

Here's a bounce return email from an email message I sent out yesterday, showing that zen.spamhaus.org seems to be marking an email containing www.red.com (http://www.red.com) as spam due to the URL inclusion (name redacted for privacy):

<xxxxxxxx@japaninvest.com>: host INBOUND.JAPANINVEST.COM.NETSOLMAIL.NET[205.178.149.7] said: 550 5.7.1 blacklisted URL host www.red.com (http://www.red.com/) by .zen.spamhaus.org (in reply to end of DATA command)If I'm wrong and this has nothing to do with Red being blacklisted please post below - I'd like to apply Occam's Razor on this one before jumping to erroneous conclusions. On the other hand if you've spotted similar issues, similarly jump in and let me know!

Red Team, if this is indeed happening you may want to contact Spamhaus.org and get yourselves removed before it propagates too widely.

Cheers,

Paul

Kelly
05-01-2007, 04:34 PM
thanks Paul... looking into it now...