PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade from Epic S35 to FF35 to 646 sensors



david farland
11-14-2008, 07:11 PM
In 9 mths when the Epic S35 is released, I'll upgrade my RedOne for $11K. In 15mth when the Epic FF35 is released, how much will the upgrade cost?

The brouchure says..
"As applications change add a larger format sensor"

Can I simply change the S35 sensor for a newer FF35 sensor and at what cost?

D

Raul Gonzo
11-14-2008, 07:22 PM
Good question David- I'd also like to know prices (even estimates) of the new accessories.

Larry McKee
11-14-2008, 09:11 PM
I've been wondering the same thing. Is it simply a matter of swapping out the S35 Mysterium X for the FF35 Monstro and paying the $7000 difference in the list price of the two different Epics, or do you have to swap out brains as well? May be too early in the game to get a an answer from RED.

Jarred Land
11-15-2008, 02:49 AM
If you want to upgrade the sensor down the line, you upgrade the brain. The bigger sensors need bigger brains, and more guts. Everything else though, ( modules, mounts, handles, batteries, etc. ) will follow along and still work with the upgrade.

Pawel Achtel
11-15-2008, 02:54 AM
If you want to upgrade the sensor down the line, you upgrade the brain. The bigger sensors need bigger brains, and more guts. Everything else though, ( modules, mounts, handles, batteries, etc. ) will follow along and still work with the upgrade.

How much will be "modules", "mounts" and "handles"?

Curran Giddens
11-15-2008, 05:27 AM
Somehow I doubt that RED will be taking in used Epic S35 brains for full value towards an FF35 or 646. I would love to be proved wrong though.

Jannard
11-15-2008, 05:39 AM
Somehow I doubt that RED will be taking in used Epic S35 brains for full value towards an FF35 or 646. I would love to be proved wrong though.

We will not.

Jim

Curran Giddens
11-15-2008, 07:18 AM
I think I can hold out until the FF35 Epic with Monstro is ready. I can always pick up a Scarlet in the meantime.... Hmm. There are so many options that my head is still spinning... :usd:

Häakon
11-15-2008, 11:17 AM
How much will be "modules", "mounts" and "handles"?
People keep asking this, but I dunno why it would be too difficult to figure it out. Seeing that the majority of RED ONE accessories are compatible with the new camera offerings, why don't you just go to red.com/store and get an idea of what they charge for a battery, LCD, handle, cable, etc...