PDA

View Full Version : Explosion...



Jarred Land
11-22-2008, 07:08 PM
http://red.cachefly.net/grabs/explode.zip

enjoy.

Nick Wolf
11-22-2008, 07:11 PM
Mother of God!!!

Graeme Nattress
11-22-2008, 07:19 PM
Very cool Jarred. Very.

Graeme

Brent J. Craig
11-22-2008, 07:19 PM
Baaaaad Ass!

This is a great way to see how it all goes together. Keep em coming!

Pawel Achtel
11-22-2008, 07:38 PM
http://red.cachefly.net/grabs/explode.zip

enjoy.

Very nice! And here is an explosion of a controller for it: http://reduser.net/forum/showpost.php?p=332294&postcount=946 http://achtel.com/smiles/stir.gif

Peter McCully
11-22-2008, 07:48 PM
Thats so cool to scroll back and forth over at this rez. More please!
Looking at that big 9k sensor got me wondering (and perhaps this needs another thread) - with this sensor are there plans for all the other crop-down modes to be supported such as 6k and 4k using PL mount or Canon/Nikon etc? In other words if I chose the 645, am I by default also getting the same range of options as the S35 and FF35?

Jarred Land
11-22-2008, 08:08 PM
Thats so cool to scroll back and forth over at this rez. More please!
Looking at that big 9k sensor got me wondering (and perhaps this needs another thread) - with this sensor are there plans for all the other crop-down modes to be supported such as 6k and 4k using PL mount or Canon/Nikon etc? In other words if I chose the 645, am I by default also getting the same range of options as the S35 and FF35?

Epic 645 will allow you to window the sensor to mimic the appropriate size needed per the mount you choose.

Peter McCully
11-22-2008, 08:21 PM
Just as I hoped, thats cool. Actually, its $10k cooler than the FF35 so I'll have to start saving now.

Jarred Land
11-22-2008, 10:14 PM
Just as I hoped, thats cool. Actually, its $10k cooler than the FF35 so I'll have to start saving now.

heh heh heh....

Kyle Mallory
11-22-2008, 10:28 PM
Jarred,

What is the module between the brain and IO modules?

Is that the CF module on the left-side of the brain?

All the LCDs seem to mount aligned with the mount points on the top of the camera. I presume the LCD can be mounted on RED arms and positioned anywhere? I can't imagine this any other way, but just want to make sure.

Thanks for the view... very cool.

Jeff Kilgroe
11-22-2008, 10:52 PM
Mmmm... More eye candy. :)

Brook Willard
11-22-2008, 11:48 PM
Dude, that's pretty freakin' badass.

C.H.Haskell
11-22-2008, 11:57 PM
Ahhhh...nice Jarred, thanks for taking the time to share. So are you guys planning on using those extreme high power magnets to hold each module together, cause thats all I can imagine with this current configuration. I am not kidding, I played with uber charged magnets that could do damage if you were not careful so its a possibility?

Best

Clayton Haskell

Jarred Land
11-23-2008, 12:24 AM
Jarred,

What is the module between the brain and IO modules?



It sustains interfamily modularity.

Jarred Land
11-23-2008, 12:29 AM
extreme high power magnets to hold each module together....


high powered magnets and recordable media (like hard drives) are not something you really want to co-exist.

Christian Edwards
11-23-2008, 02:05 AM
http://www.reduser.net/forum/uploaded/3568_1227434623.jpg

Petr Dvorak
11-23-2008, 02:09 AM
Wow Jarred that's what I exactly waited for! Thanx :w00t:

Sanjin Jukic
11-23-2008, 02:37 AM
Amazing!!!!

http://homepage.mac.com/sanjinjukic/RED/explode.jpg

Vincent Thomas
11-23-2008, 02:37 AM
Please stop now Jarred, it's not funny anymore that's just torture now! :)

So are we in the race to see a s35 epic or scarlet ready to ship in spring?

Is there any hope to see a special version of the S35 scarlet who could do 2k at 120fps or 100? I would not don't mind to pay 6000 $ more for that actually...

v*

Mark Phelan
11-23-2008, 03:43 AM
I've had a concern since the first time I saw the new and improved models. What holds them together and how sturdy is that connection? It reminds me of a bunch of freight cars each carrying their own load, but what holds them together solidly? Through bolts? Velcro? Duct tape? I could see it being "accordian-esque" without some sort of rock-solid connection.

David Birdy
11-23-2008, 03:48 AM
Very Nice, Thanks for posting.

Will we see a working model at the NAB this year?

If you need any beta testers let me know... I will make the time to do the testing!:biggrin:

Dave

Radoslav Karapetkov
11-23-2008, 04:35 AM
Very sexy. :biggrin:

Andrew Martin
11-23-2008, 05:11 AM
Damn i was actually expecting an explosion . . . . .

Looks great. Engineering to the max - cant wait to see a working prototype of this baby.

Andrew.

Paul Hazlett
11-23-2008, 06:12 AM
It sustains interfamily modularity.

say that 5 times fast....yeeesh

Tom Lowe
11-23-2008, 09:03 AM
Very cool.

Just a quick question here: A lot of these decked-out renders of the Epic and Scarlet include the little side-handle DSLR grip thingy. I'm just wondering what that thing does when the camera is shooting cinema stuff?

Ketch Rossi
11-23-2008, 09:29 AM
When I was very seek as a Kid... don't remember exactly how long ago, while unable to go and play outside for months, I absolutely loved the LEGOS, and I could come up with the most absurde configurations, building things for hours and hours, been so quite that my Mom She had forgotten I wasn't at School.

Well... it seems that the love for LEGOS has come back all over again, just that this time the pieces will cost a little more:) but at list this pieces are made much stronger and they look absolutely cool been black and all:)

ciao

Solomon Schechman
11-23-2008, 09:55 AM
This looks so great!! I was kinda confused with the cf card module and the hand grip. The other modules clearly have some sort of connector on the back and front of them, the cf card and grip modules have them too but there is no connectors on the brain itself. Why is this?

Mark L. Pederson
11-23-2008, 10:50 AM
Jarred is the King of Camera Porn

Peter Majtan
11-23-2008, 12:39 PM
Epic 645 will allow you to window the sensor to mimic the appropriate size needed per the mount you choose.

Does that include 2/3"? :innocent:

Mark L. Pederson
11-23-2008, 12:49 PM
Does that include 2/3"? :innocent:

It seems like the mounts - on the plates with the four screws - are 100% interchangeable across ALL Epics & Scarlets - Jarred? Jim?

If that is in-fact the case - windowing "down" should / could be possible across the whole product line.

I posted the question / request to be able to use 2/3" mount on the Scarlet S35 for 3D applications -

So ... are ALL the LENS MOUNTS interchangeable across the entire DSMC line (excluding the 617) ? And it's just a question of firmware for windowing?

Jason Murphy
11-23-2008, 02:18 PM
It seems like the mounts - on the plates with the four screws - are 100% interchangeable across ALL Epics & Scarlets - Jarred? Jim?

If that is in-fact the case - windowing "down" should / could be possible across the whole product line.

I posted the question / request to be able to use 2/3" mount on the Scarlet S35 for 3D applications -

So ... are ALL the LENS MOUNTS interchangeable across the entire DSMC line (excluding the 617) ? And it's just a question of firmware for windowing?

Looks to me like the Scarlet and Epic will have different mounts, due to the physical size of the brain. But would love to be wrong about that.

Would be fantastic if you were able to exchange any DSMC mount for any other, though. More options=more ability to experiment=more people doing cool things.

Jannard
11-23-2008, 03:47 PM
While it would be nice if all mounts were interchangeable between EPIC and Scarlet, the fact of the matter is that to do that, Scarlet would have to get a lot bigger side to side. The 645 and 617 mounts won't fit the width of the Scarlet body.

Jim

Ketch Rossi
11-23-2008, 04:10 PM
Haven't read, or at list found any reading on the first module, that even in this above shown configuration, it is the first module after the "BRAIN" it seems as if this is only to be used on the SCARLET body almost to feet the other module in matching the thickness of the body to that of the modules.

I imagine this also has a more technical job then just serve as a step up module system.

Have I missed something...again:)

ciao

Mark L. Pederson
11-23-2008, 05:40 PM
While it would be nice if all mounts were interchangeable between EPIC and Scarlet, the fact of the matter is that to do that, Scarlet would have to get a lot bigger side to side. The 645 and 617 mounts won't fit the width of the Scarlet body.

Jim
makes perfect sense -

but since you mention the 645 and 617 specifically - will FF35 and S35 Scarlet & Epic mounts swap?

Brian J.M. Rytel
11-23-2008, 08:30 PM
What rendering program are you using? Some of these renders fool me until I look really close at the details.

Casey Green
11-23-2008, 11:04 PM
Baaaaad Ass!

This is a great way to see how it all goes together. Keep em coming!


Dude, that's pretty freakin' badass.

heheh - "badass" is apparently used quite frequently to describe RED products...

http://www.reduser.net/forum/search.php

Todd M.
11-23-2008, 11:06 PM
Ahhhh...nice Jarred, thanks for taking the time to share. So are you guys planning on using those extreme high power magnets to hold each module together, cause thats all I can imagine with this current configuration.

I'm not sure magnets would be the ideal solution if RED still plans on having a hard drive accessory.:tongue:

Jarred Land
11-23-2008, 11:06 PM
Jim said they're rendering on Bunkspeed Hypershot and I believe the models are SolidWorks.

Hypershot is a pretty bad ass program... Jim (as usual) pretty much mastered it in a couple of days while we were still trying to figure out how to load the files in :)

Casey Green
11-23-2008, 11:12 PM
heheheh. ;-)

Joseph Ward
11-24-2008, 09:26 PM
makes perfect sense -

but since you mention the 645 and 617 specifically - will FF35 and S35 Scarlet & Epic mounts swap?

Yes, good question. I want to know also.

Brook Willard
11-25-2008, 01:15 AM
I expect that the mounts will not swap as the Epic mounts are significantly wider than the Scarlet mounts.

Axel Mertes
11-25-2008, 01:35 AM
high powered magnets and recordable media (like hard drives) are not something you really want to co-exist.


Jarred,

you need to know that the strongest magnets you can find are Neodym magnets (about 100 times stonger than ferrit magnets of same size) and those are preferably used INSIDE harddisks. When you open up an old defective harddisk, watch for those on the counter side of the reading head. They are used to damp the head movements to a minimum and prevent headcrashes.

Cheers,
Axel

Axel Mertes
11-25-2008, 01:42 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neodym

watch the image right on the screen...

IMHO you can use them WITHOUT being afraid of the data storage.

What you should be afraid of is watches, earrings (if for some weired reason magnets) etc. items from magnetic metal that could come close...

You need to get some to play with to understand their strongness. Its unbelieveable when you are used to ferrit magnets. Ferrit magnets are toys compared to Neodym. A Neodym of the size of a cigarette pack holds easily 400 kilogramms, ie. put it on a metall wall and you need 400 kg pulling to get it off again...

Perfect for screwless mounting...

But I'd recommend screws myself in your case!

Axel

michael zaletel
11-25-2008, 07:03 AM
Sweet. I can't tell how the pieces bolt together though. I see the digital interface connectors but those don't appear to be structural.

Please advise,

-shooter