PDA

View Full Version : RedRam



Jarred Land
01-08-2009, 03:47 PM
Good news.. first batch of RED RAM's came in today.. will be going out in order of backorder.

Of note.. the RED RAM's are a shade of Dark Grey instead of Black like the normal RED RAIDs, to be able to tell apart.

http://www.reduser.net/forum/uploaded/1_redram2.jpg

Shawn Booth
01-08-2009, 03:47 PM
Nice...

Jeff Kilgroe
01-08-2009, 03:50 PM
Excellent! How much of a back-log is there? So if we place an order in the store today, how long until it ships?

Birns and Sawyer
01-08-2009, 04:14 PM
Great news. A solid state medium with this much capacity will definately be a difference maker.

michael zaletel
01-08-2009, 04:30 PM
What are the possible frame rates for various resolutions using the RED RAM drive?

-shooter

Justin Kirchhoff
01-08-2009, 04:41 PM
Hmmm.....this could be my new tool :)

Stuart English
01-08-2009, 04:50 PM
What are the possible frame rates for various resolutions using the RED RAM drive?

The max frame rate for each type of media is detailed in the Build 17 Operation Guide Page 27-28.

But in summary RED-RAM runs at 120 fps in 2K, 60 fps 3K, 30 fps 4K with RECODE 36 and 16 x 9 aspect.

Alexis Hanawalt
01-08-2009, 05:08 PM
Any plans to drop the price in half and utilize this when it becomes available: http://i.gizmodo.com/5126848/sandisks-g3-ssds-deliver-40000-rpm-speeds-without-breaking-the-bank ?

Michael Thornton
01-08-2009, 05:13 PM
Oh, Yeah.

Perfect for all those shocking applications. Steady Cam, Helicopters, or Vehicle mounts.

I have used this baby in a Helicopter, works like a dream.

Worth every penny.

Thank You RED.

Tek

Jarred Land
01-08-2009, 05:57 PM
Any plans to drop the price in half and utilize this when it becomes available: http://i.gizmodo.com/5126848/sandisks-g3-ssds-deliver-40000-rpm-speeds-without-breaking-the-bank ?

those are the cheaper MLC technology drives.. Unfortunately they would not last long in the RED application.

Matthew Verkler
01-08-2009, 05:59 PM
Wow, I had no idea that Red was even accepting orders for this yet. A pleasant surprise! One question: does it use the same cable as the RedRaid drives to connect to the Red One?

Thanks,

Matthew Verkler

J. Eric Camp
01-08-2009, 06:02 PM
Trust me... You want these.

Rock solid perfect.

And yes, same cradle, cable etc

Michael Lindsay
01-08-2009, 06:10 PM
The max frame rate for each type of media is detailed in the Build 17 Operation Guide Page 27-28.

But in summary RED-RAM runs at 120 fps in 2K, 60 fps 3K, 30 fps 4K with RECODE 36 and 16 x 9 aspect.

We know what is available now! What we want to know is what is possible next??:biggrin: (there was a few slight suggestions that red ram might open up some extra frame rates with future builds)

Also is power draw lower than the reddrive?

thanks

Michael L

RivaiC
01-08-2009, 06:59 PM
This will be a much better replacement than the RED Drive..thanks Jarred. BTW, what is the capacity of this guy ?

Joseph Ward
01-08-2009, 07:02 PM
128GB SSD

Why isn't the capitals working until I write, Why isn't the capitals working?

David Birdy
01-08-2009, 07:03 PM
This Drive is solid, defiantly a great tool for the Red One!

No more dropped frames and hours of record time!!!

Dave

RivaiC
01-08-2009, 07:06 PM
128GB SSD


Thanks Joseph

Rick Darge
01-08-2009, 08:25 PM
Good news.. first batch of RED RAM's came in today.. will be going out in order of backorder.

Of note.. the RED RAM's are a shade of Dark Grey instead of Black like the normal RED RAIDs, to be able to tell apart.

http://www.reduser.net/forum/uploaded/1_redram2.jpg

Dark Grey as in the color of my original Red-Raid drive! :tongue: I still have a couple of relics of the old un-anodized days past. Good to see that these are finally shipping out.

J. Eric Camp
01-08-2009, 08:27 PM
We know what is available now! What we want to know is what is possible next??:biggrin: (there was a few slight suggestions that red ram might open up some extra frame rates with future builds)

Also is power draw lower than the reddrive?

thanks

Michael L

It is my understanding that this is it for the R1, unless hardware gets a swap.

Jarred Land
01-08-2009, 09:48 PM
Dark Grey as in the color of my original Red-Raid drive! :tongue: I still have a couple of relics of the old un-anodized days past. Good to see that these are finally shipping out.

ha ha ha... yeah some of the first janky anodizing was a little grey.. those are gonna be collectables one day.

These drives are powdercoated grey :)

D Namir
01-08-2009, 09:56 PM
Does it work on the Red One only, or will it work on the Epic too?

Andrew Walker
01-08-2009, 11:51 PM
The max frame rate for each type of media is detailed in the Build 17 Operation Guide Page 27-28.

But in summary RED-RAM runs at 120 fps in 2K, 60 fps 3K, 30 fps 4K with RECODE 36 and 16 x 9 aspect.

You mean 120fps 2K 2:1 and 60fps 3K 2:1 right?

Fredrik Callinggard
01-09-2009, 12:57 AM
You mean 120fps 2K 2:1 and 60fps 3K 2:1 right?

Most probably he meant what he said since RED RAM is a very fast drive

Nick Shaw
01-09-2009, 01:32 AM
According to the ops guide those frame rates ARE available at 16x9, not just 2:1, exactly as Stuart said.

Michael Lindsay
01-09-2009, 02:34 AM
According to the ops guide those frame rates ARE available at 16x9, not just 2:1, exactly as Stuart said.

excellent!!

Michael L

Jarred Land
01-09-2009, 08:18 AM
Does it work on the Red One only, or will it work on the Epic too?

Yes to Epic... and Scarlet.

Brent Carter
01-09-2009, 09:53 AM
Excellent! How much of a back-log is there? So if we place an order in the store today, how long until it ships?

http://www.red.com/store/501002

Tough to say - now that they about to begin shipping, I am sure the demand will spike pretty quickly. This first production run will make a big dent in the current backorder and get us off to a flying start. Let us gets some historical data and then I can give a better estimate of order-to-fulfill delta.

BC

Jeff Kilgroe
01-09-2009, 11:00 AM
Thanks Brent,

I put a deposit on one at some point and made a second yesterday. I was just seeing if I can get an idea about delivery times. :)

Andrew Walker
01-09-2009, 11:20 AM
According to the ops guide those frame rates ARE available at 16x9, not just 2:1, exactly as Stuart said.

I guess I'll have to go back in the ops guide and take a look. I just thought that the 120fps 2:1 was a limit of the sensor, not the media.

Michael Thornton
01-09-2009, 11:33 AM
does it use the same cable as the RedRaid drives to connect to the Red One?

Thanks,

Matthew Verkler

Yes, I used the same cable on these.

Tek

Mitch Gross
01-09-2009, 11:44 AM
I guess I'll have to go back in the ops guide and take a look. I just thought that the 120fps 2:1 was a limit of the sensor, not the media.

It can also be a limit on the throughput, meaning how much data can travel through the system to get to the media.

Andrew Walker
01-09-2009, 01:00 PM
It can also be a limit on the throughput, meaning how much data can travel through the system to get to the media.

I do remember hearing that as well when the 120fps function was enabled in Build 15. Its really cool if the REDRam can let you record 120fps at 2K 16x9. But I would like to hear it from someone that has worked with the REDRam because sometimes there are typos in the ops guide.

Andrew Young
01-09-2009, 10:11 PM
The Build 17 ops guide states 100fps as the max for 2K 16x9 on RedRam (p. 28), so I'm not sure what to believe.

Greg M
01-15-2009, 05:38 PM
Just received a tracking number for my 2 Red-Ram drives, they arrive in the morning.

Evin Grant
01-15-2009, 09:02 PM
I'm using two of Keslow camera's Red Ram's tonight. So far very solid.

J. Eric Camp
01-15-2009, 09:06 PM
I am telling you. The Rams are bullet proof awesomeness.

Brook Willard
01-15-2009, 10:00 PM
What drives are inside it, Jarred? I'm building a vibration-proof SSD RAID for one of my DIT stations... interested in what was fast enough for you guys.

Peter Majtan
01-16-2009, 03:54 AM
What drives are inside it, Jarred? I'm building a vibration-proof SSD RAID for one of my DIT stations... interested in what was fast enough for you guys.

Brook - I can help You with that, e-mail me to peter(at)derylgroup(dot)com...

:) Peter

Curran Giddens
01-16-2009, 05:25 AM
why not post it here? I'm interested in this too....

Dominic Jones
01-16-2009, 06:19 AM
I guess I'll have to go back in the ops guide and take a look. I just thought that the 120fps 2:1 was a limit of the sensor, not the media.
The sensor imposes the 120fps max framerate, but I believe that the 2:1 limitation is imposed by the either throughput of the camera's internal hardware paths or the recording media - not sure which.

I'm not 100% on that, but I'm fairly sure that's the case...

Peter Majtan
01-17-2009, 12:20 AM
why not post it here? I'm interested in this too....

NDA with the manufacturer...

:)

Michael Lindsay
01-17-2009, 01:34 AM
Hi

On this list 'I remember' there has been a couple of subtle references by Mr Janard (Maybe Jarred as well) to Redrams ability to offer slightly higher frame rates at 'certain' frame sizes.

Does anyone have a link to these posts.. I searched yesterday for nearly an hour.

Better still would be if someone from Red would like to pitch in and give something definite on this?

Even if its as subtle as allowing 60fps at 3k 16:9 I want to know for my Red ram order.

thanks for any help!!

Michael L

Jonathon Laing
01-17-2009, 02:11 AM
If this can only record 60 frames at 3k, how will we use the 3k at 120fps feature on the scarlet. Apologies for my lack of knowledge.





Jono

Stuart English
01-17-2009, 06:51 AM
If this can only record 60 frames at 3k, how will we use the 3k at 120fps feature on the scarlet. Apologies for my lack of knowledge.


Because 60 fps is the maximum frame rate the RED ONE camera can acquire and compress images at when operating at 3K resolution.

i.e. the RED RAM drive is "faster" than the RED ONE camera at that resolution.

Michael Lindsay
01-17-2009, 09:56 AM
Hi Stuart

Go on!!!! answer my question???:wink:

regards

Michael L

Simon Valderrama
01-19-2009, 05:46 AM
Even if its as subtle as allowing 60fps at 3k 16:9 I want to know for my Red ram order.

from what i understood that's the deal, no more difference between 16:9 and 2:1

Michael Lindsay
01-24-2009, 03:57 AM
I hope so...

Anyone with red ram capable of confirming this..

And with the next build?:biggrin:

regards

Michael L

SF Geek
01-24-2009, 10:11 AM
So there is still no confirmation on frame aspect ratio at max frame rate, 2:1 or 16:9?

Greg M
01-25-2009, 07:23 PM
I'll check Monday...I noticed downloading data to our DIT ws is super fast.

Stuart English
01-26-2009, 07:55 AM
So there is still no confirmation on frame aspect ratio at max frame rate, 2:1 or 16:9?

The Operations Guide Build 17 has full details ... :red_bandana:

Greg M
01-26-2009, 08:46 AM
here you go, looks like we can now go up to 30fps at redcode 36 and 4K 16:9:

Michael Lindsay
01-27-2009, 02:02 PM
Thanks Greg..

I need to make a decision on some Red-ram.. The frame rate difference is a little modest!

I think I'll get anyway but it would be fantastic to get a nod that a few extra frames per second at 3k or 4k will be possible with a new build...

The pound is so weak at the moment Redram has nearly doubled in price for us UK people any additional encouragement would be appreciated..

kind regards

Michael L

PS if anyone wants to know 16:9 4k@40fps and 3k@75 would make me very happy! (I can't remember if 16:9 120fps 2k is possible at the chip read out level)

Greg M
01-27-2009, 02:45 PM
I think I'll get anyway but it would be fantastic to get a nod that a few extra frames per second at 3k or 4k will be possible with a new build...


A few extra frames? What good are a few extra frames?

For me the big advantage to RedRam is the peace of mind. When shooting with the drives we never shot more than 30 minutes and constantly checked the clips for fear we would lose something. With the RAM drive I dont have this lack of confidence.

FYI- We have never lost a single shot since day one on either drives or CF, but I was always cautious with the Drives.

Michael Lindsay
01-28-2009, 04:54 PM
A few extra frames? What good are a few extra frames?


For me massive!

kind regards

Michael

PS I trust no media... I don't feel good till I have 2 physically separated back ups

Greg M
01-29-2009, 12:32 PM
For me massive!

kind regards

Michael

PS I trust no media... I don't feel good till I have 2 physically separated back ups

but seriously, how do you benefit from a few extra frames?

Michael Lindsay
02-01-2009, 10:51 AM
Greg

I shoot allot of beauty stuff ...and for grace in body movement and to thicken hair fps options really help...

I appreciate that the Red has both chip and bandwidth restrictions. We all know the chip limits at 2k and 4k... The bandwidth limits are less known (especially with Redram at the back end).

If the camera was advanced to be able to do 4k at 40fps and 3k 75fps this would be significant for my work. The ability to work at 16:9 at 120fps would also be significant. Anything better for 4k and 3k would be astonishingly good.

60fps at 3k is great but it is often a little shy for certain hair types.. 75fps make certain things just better.

I will instantly let out a cheer when I upgrade our cameras to Epic because I want and can use full frame 435 like rates.

regards

Michael L


PS I want to reassure Red that unlocking a few more fps on Red will not in the slightest devalue the upgrade to Epic..

Greg M
02-01-2009, 02:22 PM
Greg

I shoot allot of beauty stuff ...and for grace in body movement and to thicken hair fps options really help...

I appreciate that the Red has both chip and bandwidth restrictions. We all know the chip limits at 2k and 4k... The bandwidth limits are less known (especially with Redram at the back end).

If the camera was advanced to be able to do 4k at 40fps and 3k 75fps this would be significant for my work. The ability to work at 16:9 at 120fps would also be significant. Anything better for 4k and 3k would be astonishingly good.

60fps at 3k is great but it is often a little shy for certain hair types.. 75fps make certain things just better.

I will instantly let out a cheer when I upgrade our cameras to Epic because I want and can use full frame 435 like rates.

regards

Michael L


PS I want to reassure Red that unlocking a few more fps on Red will not in the slightest devalue the upgrade to Epic..


my bad, I read "few frames" literally a FEW frames. Yes, we all want alot more frames, just dont expect them in this body.

Michael Lindsay
02-02-2009, 01:44 AM
sorry I wasn't very clear...

I think I meant a few compared to Epic's possibilities of 125fps+ at 4k.

Also we are just a little shy of the frame rate I would use alot of on film.

regards

Michael

Andrew clemson
02-22-2009, 12:06 AM
Hi,

just wondering if anyone else has had "Internal error-Codec Fault" pop up when using the RAMs. We had it multiple times yesterday when trying to shoot 30fps, then it went away when we went back to 25fps. Oddly though, the stuff we shot at 30 plays fine when we transfer to a MAC.

J. Eric Camp
02-22-2009, 06:39 AM
30fps 4k 16:9?

That would not be an issue with the RAM.

What were you shooting?

Stuart English
02-22-2009, 06:41 AM
Hi,

just wondering if anyone else has had "Internal error-Codec Fault" pop up when using the RAMs. We had it multiple times yesterday when trying to shoot 30fps, then it went away when we went back to 25fps. Oddly though, the stuff we shot at 30 plays fine when we transfer to a MAC.

What firmware Build was that with ?

Chosei Funahara
02-22-2009, 10:29 AM
It happened to me only media is under 3%, setting was Redcode 36 / 25fps /4KHD, Build 18.
Otherwise, it's very stable.


Hi,

just wondering if anyone else has had "Internal error-Codec Fault" pop up when using the RAMs. We had it multiple times yesterday when trying to shoot 30fps, then it went away when we went back to 25fps. Oddly though, the stuff we shot at 30 plays fine when we transfer to a MAC.

Andrew clemson
02-23-2009, 03:37 AM
The camera was recording 4K 16:9 at 30fps, and we were running build 17.

We switched over to the raids when we saw the error, and it popped up with them too. Once we dialled back down to 25fps we had no error messages.

J. Eric Camp
02-23-2009, 03:40 PM
Yeah, not the RAMS.

What was the subject?

Andrew clemson
02-23-2009, 11:28 PM
We were shooting a Dhow Race:

http://www.reduser.net/forum/uploaded/17334_1235460244.jpg http://www.reduser.net/forum/uploaded/17334_1235460394.jpg

The one on the right isnt RED, just an SLR. (Just thought pics would be nicer than a wiki link to Dhows!)

DAVID McNAMARA
03-21-2009, 07:42 PM
Does anyone know why the schedule page says they are currently shipping REDRAM Drives, but when I paid and ordered one I got an Invoice that says backorder?

Jeff Kilgroe
03-22-2009, 10:14 AM
Does anyone know why the schedule page says they are currently shipping REDRAM Drives, but when I paid and ordered one I got an Invoice that says backorder?

Because they're on backorder right now. The online store seems to never indicate available stock. Contact brian b @ red dot com or your bomb squad rep to see what the backorder situation is.

Michael Lindsay
03-22-2009, 11:23 AM
Anyone else not able to record on Ram at 16:9 3k 60fps?

thanks

Michael L

gbalaji
03-23-2009, 04:52 AM
Advantage of Red RAM over 16GB CF Cards other the disk space?

Alexander Christ
03-23-2009, 06:58 AM
Advantage of Red RAM over 16GB CF Cards other the disk space?

higher frame rates (page 28 in the RED manual)

Christoffer Glans
03-23-2009, 07:18 AM
Apart from being expensive, what exactly will be the reason for going with flash cards when having one of these? Two of these can be used for a days shooting and then transfer during night and continue shooting, no more work for DMT's, except as night owls... :)

Curran Giddens
03-23-2009, 08:27 AM
Apart from being expensive, what exactly will be the reason for going with flash cards when having one of these?

If you needed the lightest weight possible. Or if you were using the cards like film (not erasing them).

Michael Lindsay
03-23-2009, 03:25 PM
Let me re-formulate has anyone 'EVER' managed to record 16:9 60fps at 3k???


Anyone else not able to record on Ram at 16:9 3k 60fps?

thanks

Michael L