PDA

View Full Version : Scratch Workstation for 2K realtime playback

dori_bashan
03-02-2009, 02:15 PM
Hi

do you think that HP xw8600 3.16 GHZ (Dual Quad Core) 4 GB ram and Nvidia 5600 SDI with 32 diskd raid (JMR Storage - over 1000 mb/s) is enough for realtime playback of 2k footage?

Thanks

Dori

Fredrik Harreschou
03-02-2009, 02:19 PM
For DPX, definitely. For realtime debayer of R3D, wait for Nehalem or overclock...

dori_bashan
03-02-2009, 02:48 PM
i'm a bit new at overclocking, where can i get some instruction for it?

how do i do it?

Fredrik Harreschou
03-02-2009, 03:20 PM
Introduction to Overclocking Guide for Beginners (http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=162&Itemid=38) (link)

Boxx sells overclocked i7 machines that do realtime 2k: http://www.boxxtech.com/products/redBOXX/redBOXX_Overview.asp

dori_bashan
03-02-2009, 03:50 PM
Thanks

hasetas
03-03-2009, 03:37 AM
I have a question. I think SCRATCH should be able to realtime playback 2K r3d files. Does 2K realtime playback = HD realtime output? If I have a 2K source and want to output to HD, do I need to render?

Another question is, can SCRATCH realtime playback to HDCAM-SR tape? Actually I suppose that if SCRATCH can realtime play, VTR should be able to realtime record. However, it seems to delay frequently. So I have to make sure if SCRATCH could do "realtime" for any format at 2K or under.

Thank you all.

Hasetas

M Most
03-03-2009, 07:04 AM
I have a question. I think SCRATCH should be able to realtime playback 2K r3d files. Does 2K realtime playback = HD realtime output?

Yes.

If I have a 2K source and want to output to HD, do I need to render?

No.

Another question is, can SCRATCH realtime playback to HDCAM-SR tape?

Yes.

Actually I suppose that if SCRATCH can realtime play, VTR should be able to realtime record. However, it seems to delay frequently. So I have to make sure if SCRATCH could do "realtime" for any format at 2K or under.