PDA

View Full Version : Too good to be true, right?



Paul Lee
12-08-2009, 08:36 PM
I assume this can't be legit, right? Call there site an homage to Apple...

http://apple-software.net/

Seriously, some scam/ware thing, right? I would love to pay these prices!

BigLu
12-08-2009, 08:38 PM
I have seen this from apple before.
And when that happened with Shake
They discontinued Shake 5 months later.

So my feeling is CS5 is right around the corner.
And CS5 will cost what CS4 used to cost or close.


Apone Shawn and jimhare's investigation.
It seems its not a legit Apple site.

MY BAD.
what i said above seems like it will not apply here.

Shawn Nelson
12-08-2009, 08:43 PM
CS4 Master Collection for $299??? Yeah right! That site cant be legit

jimhare
12-08-2009, 08:46 PM
That's a scam. If you read the fine print in the email it talks about conditions of owning an iPhone. Plus the link doesn't go to Apple, nothing to do with them.

Scam or at least pirate. Big time.

Mark Collins
12-08-2009, 08:53 PM
Fortunately I don't have to go to that site for software.

My school gives me free copies of the software with the licenses and everything when I pay my tuition. This year they even handed us the Adobe CS4 Master Collection for free.

Anyway, that's a fake site. it has to be. No company would ever allow their software to be sold at 90% off.

Paul Lee
12-08-2009, 09:01 PM
So how long before they get shut down...

sander kamp
12-08-2009, 09:30 PM
No address on the website, only contact by email-form. You can't register the software that you bought. Scam.

Imran Farouk
12-08-2009, 10:00 PM
got that email and was gonna bring it up here, wonder whose mailing book they got all the emails from..

sounded ridiculously odd that CS4 went from 800 to 80 something...

Conrad Hunziker
12-08-2009, 10:07 PM
They actually do give a address on their about page, but I doubt they are there.

From the whois:
Ad / Name KIMO LATHAM
Adres 361 grass valley dr Colorado
Tel 112-392-2999
Faks
E-posta KEITHt99e5h7j4zLYNETTE@hotmail.com
Guncelleme / Updated

IP information:
IP address: 60.172.228.79
ASN: 4134
ASN Name: CHINANET-BACKBONE (No.31,Jin-rong Street)
IP range connectivity: 20
Registrar (per ASN): APNIC
Country (per IP registrar): CN [China]
City (per outside source): Hefei, Anhui
Country (per outside source): CN [China]

So servers in china, DNS hosted in russia, site in english.

If you buy the software, dont be surprised to find a few "additional charges" to your credit card.

Hrvoje Simic
12-09-2009, 07:37 AM
It would be funny to watch the race and the finish - which legal department team will hit first: San Jose, Cupertino, or Redmond.

Paul Lee
12-09-2009, 09:07 AM
So servers in china, DNS hosted in russia, site in english.

If you buy the software, dont be surprised to find a few "additional charges" to your credit card.

Oh, so I shouldn't of sent them my social security number and bank routing numbers like they asked for. I'm PUMPED to have Final Cut Express finally!

KETCH ROSSi
12-09-2009, 10:37 AM
Got the email.. trashed the email...

Babu Kantamneni
12-09-2009, 12:52 PM
Got the email.. trashed the email...

Me too!

Matthias Hutter
12-09-2009, 01:13 PM
Whois info:


REGISTRY WHOIS FOR APPLE-SOFTWARE.NET

Expiration Date: 2010-11-28
Creation Date: 2009-11-28
Last Update Date: 2009-11-28

Name Servers:
ns1.pr2mf.com
ns2.pr2mf.ru

APPLE-SOFTWARE.NET SITE INFORMATION

IP: 60.172.228.79
IP Location: Hefei, China
Website Status: active
Server Type: nginx/0.7.64

I would say scam...

EDIT: Sorry, allready posted by R3D Data.

Lg, Matt

KETCH ROSSi
12-09-2009, 02:27 PM
On an other note, giving the amount of us here form REDUSER that got this, seems logical that some one here is spamming us via our e-mail info registered here at REDUSER, very sad, very annoying to..

Gavin Greenwalt
12-09-2009, 10:51 PM
Adobe doesn't usually put Creative Suite on sale. They just offer free upgrades when a new release is just around the corner. I think it's something like 90 day free upgrade period.

I also doubt that CS5 is nearing announcement. Adobe is on an 18+ month cycle.

Jeremiah Warren
12-12-2009, 04:15 PM
Yes, this is a scam. Don't fall for it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eN0JtXw7b68

Jeremiah Warren
12-12-2009, 04:25 PM
I received an email from these guys in two email accounts. Not sure how they got my address.

Pietro Impagliazzo
12-12-2009, 06:37 PM
I'm not sure I received this email.

I just deleted without even looking at my gmail spam folder. Google spam protection is pretty good.

Torrey Loomis
12-12-2009, 11:54 PM
One note about Apple prices...

Authorized Apple VAR's (resellers) are not allowed to display prices lower than MSRP. We can sell the packages for any price we want, but list prices in advertisements and on the web must match MAP (minimum advertised pricing).

Torrey
-----------------------------------------------
Torrey Loomis
President & CEO - Silverado Systems, Inc.
(916) 760-0032 • FAX (916) 404-5258
torrey@silverado.cc
Web http://www.Silverado.cc
Blog http://silveradosys.blogspot.com
Twitter http://www.twitter.com/silveradosys

Build your own RED Rocket system: http://bit.ly/7F4QA1

David Battistella
12-13-2009, 06:23 AM
check this reduser thread

http://reduser.net/forum/showthread.php?t=38793

David