View Full Version : Scam alert: Red for sale on ebay
David (dudi) Namir
01-22-2010, 01:26 AM
Came upon this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Red-One-4K-cinema-camera-package-tapeless-format_W0QQitemZ180459437229QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDig ital_Cameras?hash=item2a04387cad
Just wonder how much will it go for.
Stephen Matthews
01-22-2010, 02:04 AM
It's just the base production pack, some batteries, and an sd card. As it says after the third bullet - Red One camera is not included!
Cüneyt Kaya
01-22-2010, 02:25 AM
It's just the base production pack, some batteries, and an sd card. As it says after the third bullet - Red One camera is not included!
you are wrong, body IS included, but no lens.
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 02:35 AM
Who would want to buy a RED off eBay, I wonder.
Also strange that their is no mention of the serial number
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 02:57 AM
you are wrong, body IS included, but no lens.
interesting that you find the body is included...
This is the brand new professional camera technology known as the Red One. It uses both digital and film lenses, but this package does not come with a lens. It has not been used, items only removed from boxes for picture taking.
http://www2.journeymetropolis.info/images/dsc1121.jpg
more interesting is the guy didn't feel like uploading any pics of his gear...
Cüneyt Kaya
01-22-2010, 03:01 AM
most interesting is that there is no serial number...i wouldnt buy.
but maybe he is just selling a red
his last item was a golden buddha...hehe
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180449652224
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 03:34 AM
Yeah, looking at his feedback, there are a couple of things that blink on my radar.
a) No activity from 03-06, a book and "cute boots" sold in 06, again no activity til this year, when he sells a golden buddah. Obviously not someone who knows an awful lot about cameras. I would not be totally surprised if that accounted got hacked.
b) No specific info about the camera, or why it has not been used
c) At this time I feel eBaby is the wrong place to sell a R1 - especially with a 4k starting price
d) The description text is actually an image, which is not hosted on eBay. Meaning, they can change it at any time. A popular scamming tool on eBay. (Joseph, on my machine I do get a text saying that a body is included - it is not unthinkable that the image displayed is dependant on your IP.)
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 03:43 AM
- it is not unthinkable that the image displayed is dependant on your IP.)
hehe, nope...I wouldn't waste my bandwidth on that image.
Here's a screen grab of what I'm seeing...
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 03:45 AM
ha, and even more ironic I just noticed:
items only removed from boxes for picture taking.
...yet they show no pictures.
Me thinks there's nothing to see here... :D
:closed2ur0:
Cüneyt Kaya
01-22-2010, 03:49 AM
joseph, can i get your "show the thruth" web filter...:)
i see pictures of a red..haha.
hope nobody puts money on this ebay auction
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 04:14 AM
OK this is definitely a scam. Here's a screengrab of the image I get.
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 04:14 AM
...which also explains why he won't do an international PayPal - there we would be protected.
Be sure to report the auction as well.
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 04:17 AM
haha, this is really weird. I'm the only one seeing that? :confused1:
David (dudi) Namir
01-22-2010, 04:20 AM
it looks like we see different descriptions on ebay. If so, this is enough to stay out of this auction.
Cüneyt Kaya
01-22-2010, 04:21 AM
ok, this is what i see
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 04:22 AM
I think we can safely call this "The 0k for $4k camera".
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 04:29 AM
And yet another reason for being very, very cautios when using eBay for any high-value items:
Thanks for letting us know about a listing or seller you'd like us to
investigate for potential fraudulent activity. eBay is very concerned
about this type of activity. We'll review your report as soon as
possible, usually within 72 hours.
3 days ("usually"!) to investigate a fraudulent listing in an on-line market place? 3 days on the Internet is like half a year in realtime... Most listings are finished by then.
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 04:31 AM
so if I pay the $4,000, what will I get? :thumbdown:
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 04:32 AM
so if I pay the $4,000, what will I get? :thumbdown:
This (http://reduser.net/forum/showpost.php?p=541920&postcount=16)
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 04:32 AM
Oh! A 512MB SD card looks like... :lol:
Sally Shamas
01-22-2010, 05:27 AM
Or maybe a stolen RED ONE ?...
David (dudi) Namir
01-22-2010, 05:35 AM
Listing has ended.
Could be seller realized he is selling too low?
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 12:44 PM
Listing has ended.
Could be seller realized he is selling too low?
We were yet to find out what he was actually sellin'.
Martin Weiss
01-22-2010, 01:05 PM
Well, in related items you can find a chinese made red camera, starting at 39 bucks:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Chinese-red-hongmei-1-120-Medium-Format-Folding-Camera_W0QQitemZ250565520091QQcategoryZ710QQcmdZVi ewItemQQ_trksidZp4340.m263QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DSIC%2 6its%3DI%252BC%26itu%3DUCI%252BIA%252BUA%252BFICS% 252BUFI%252BDDSIC%26otn%3D10%26ps%3D63
Joseph Hutson
01-22-2010, 01:06 PM
Well, in related items you can find a chinese made red camera, starting at 39 bucks:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Chinese-red-hongmei-1-120-Medium-Format-Folding-Camera_W0QQitemZ250565520091QQcategoryZ710QQcmdZVi ewItemQQ_trksidZp4340.m263QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DSIC%2 6its%3DI%252BC%26itu%3DUCI%252BIA%252BUA%252BFICS% 252BUFI%252BDDSIC%26otn%3D10%26ps%3D63
It says "film". What's that?