PDA

View Full Version : Avid MXF with RCX158



James Rayburn
03-09-2010, 03:01 PM
When I render out Avid MXF media from RCX158, I get some messed up video.

When I set debayer to 1/2, I get 1/2 the image all scrambled.
When I set debayer to 1/4, I get 1/4 the image all scrambed.

If I set it to full debayer, I get a proper file. But thats the only way I can figure out how to do it.

I have tried on 2 different machines, one a laptop running Snow Leopard, and one a Mac Pro running Leopard. Same results.

I can switch back to RCX104 and it works fine with the same files.

Here is what it looks like set to 1/4 depayer.

http://i40.tinypic.com/rj2r8o.png

Marcus Vasques Osorio
03-09-2010, 03:05 PM
been having the same problem with rendering MPEG files, MXF works OK though, could be graphics card problem...

EDIT: also having this problem with MXF now as well

Marcus

Deanan
03-09-2010, 06:03 PM
Can you send the log file to me?
Thanks.

jamie parry
03-09-2010, 06:11 PM
Hiya
jamie here
i have written an app that takes an AVID EDL (from a decomposed sequence)
makes a .lua script with the right clips and the right in and out frames (in 25fps land so far at least) and they all go into bin 1 as per deanan's example.
BUT....
when i export all clips in bin (which i want to do to get clips to RELINK to in the Symphony/media composer
I get the same video problem as here when anything other than full debayer is used
but the MAIN problem is that in the MXF that is made the START value in the MXF is the start of the original R3D file NOT the start of the CLIP
Redcine-X reports the correct value when you drag from the bin into the viewer window and look at AC timecode.
So really if you want an AVID conforming tool with grading ability in redcine-x it's already done, I just need you lot to ask Deanan etc very nicely if they would fix the timecode issue.
cool
:-)
j

Deanan
03-09-2010, 06:27 PM
Hiya
jamie here
i have written an app that takes an AVID EDL (from a decomposed sequence)
makes a .lua script with the right clips and the right in and out frames (in 25fps land so far at least) and they all go into bin 1 as per deanan's example.
BUT....
when i export all clips in bin (which i want to do to get clips to RELINK to in the Symphony/media composer
I get the same video problem as here when anything other than full debayer is used
but the MAIN problem is that in the MXF that is made the START value in the MXF is the start of the original R3D file NOT the start of the CLIP
Redcine-X reports the correct value when you drag from the bin into the viewer window and look at AC timecode.
So really if you want an AVID conforming tool with grading ability in redcine-x it's already done, I just need you lot to ask Deanan etc very nicely if they would fix the timecode issue.
cool
:-)
j

can you send me an email explaining in more detail?
ie timecode values, clip layout, lua script, etc?

EDIT: nevermind, I think we have found it.

jamie parry
03-09-2010, 06:30 PM
hiya
i'm sorry Deanan i don't know how to get to you!
shall I just post it here
I've had coffee....
j

James Rayburn
03-09-2010, 06:36 PM
here's my log

Deanan
03-09-2010, 06:40 PM
hiya
i'm sorry Deanan i don't know how to get to you!
shall I just post it here
I've had coffee....
j

deanan at red

jamie parry
03-09-2010, 06:42 PM
the EDL from avid
TITLE: LUATEST
FCM: NON-DROP FRAME
001 A002_C013_1122X7 V C 10:48:40:04 10:48:48:09 01:00:00:00 01:00:08:05
002 A002_C018_112200 V C 11:14:56:19 11:15:01:01 01:00:08:05 01:00:12:12
003 B002_C041_1122BX V C 21:55:28:18 21:55:33:10 01:00:12:12 01:00:17:04
 
the lua file I make
called cool.lua

-- jamie is ace

-- Load a new clip.
-- tc= 10:48:11:12
clip1 = REDX.clip("/Users/jamie/Desktop/eeee/A002_C013_1122X7_001.R3D")
REDX.log("clip1 width = ", clip1:width())
REDX.log("clip1 height = ", clip1:height())
REDX.log("clip1 frame_count = ", clip1:frame_count())
REDX.log("clip1 frame_rate = ", clip1:frame_rate())

-- first argment is inclusive and the second is exculsive [in, out)
clip1:setInOut(717, 922)

ab = REDX.active_bin();
ab:addClip(clip1)


-- Load a new clip.
-- tc= 11:14:28:05
clip2 = REDX.clip("/Users/jamie/Desktop/eeee/A002_C018_112200_001.R3D")
REDX.log("clip2 width = ", clip2:width())
REDX.log("clip2 height = ", clip2:height())
REDX.log("clip2 frame_count = ", clip2:frame_count())
REDX.log("clip2 frame_rate = ", clip2:frame_rate())

-- first argment is inclusive and the second is exculsive [in, out)
clip2:setInOut(714, 821)

ab = REDX.active_bin();
ab:addClip(clip2)


-- Load a new clip.
-- tc= 21:55:28:03
clip3 = REDX.clip("/Users/jamie/Desktop/eeee/B002_C041_1122BX_001.R3D")
REDX.log("clip3 width = ", clip3:width())
REDX.log("clip3 height = ", clip3:height())
REDX.log("clip3 frame_count = ", clip3:frame_count())
REDX.log("clip3 frame_rate = ", clip3:frame_rate())

-- first argment is inclusive and the second is exculsive [in, out)
clip3:setInOut(15, 132)

ab = REDX.active_bin();
ab:addClip(clip3)

---------

all clips are in the folder eeee on the desktop
my app puts the start timecode of the R3D file in a comment --tc
(get it using redline at the moment)
but the set in and out are NOT 0 or the end of the R3D file
yet the start time in the MXF reports back to the avid (and avidmxinfo from the BBC) as being the timecode of the start of the R3D not the start of th clip in the redcine-x bin

hope this helps
j

Deanan
03-09-2010, 07:02 PM
all clips are in the folder eeee on the desktop
my app puts the start timecode of the R3D file in a comment --tc
(get it using redline at the moment)
but the set in and out are NOT 0 or the end of the R3D file
yet the start time in the MXF reports back to the avid (and avidmxinfo from the BBC) as being the timecode of the start of the R3D not the start of th clip in the redcine-x bin

hope this helps
j

Thanks. Should be fixed in the next build.

Marcus Vasques Osorio
03-09-2010, 11:42 PM
jamie, is it not possible to just re-link to file names in AVID? and ignore the timecode part? until the next build that is

as i mentined in another post, if the source material is still in its original folder you can use unc in the AVID metadata to get path, saves copying all material to a single folder, just a thought (more of an XML fan than an EDL fan)

Marcus