PDA

View Full Version : Possible low budget feature in Tokyo

Ryan Samul
12-01-2011, 01:02 PM
Hello-

I'm a New York based DP who shoots mainly features and there is a possibility that I may be doing a feature in Tokyo next year in March with a completely local crew. I just have some preliminary questions about how features are produced in Japan.

I know the delineation of responsibilities for Grips, Electrics, Camera Assistants, Assistant Directors, Art Department (Props, Production Designers, set dressers), Production Department (Producer, Line Producer, UPM, PA, interns), etc. are different in different countries (ex. England or China) but I have no experience with how Japanese crews work, especially in a low budget situation ($500,000 usd, aprox ¥38,000,000 jpy). Is there even an infrastructure set up for such a low budget feature? How is the power set up (110/220V, 50htz, 60htz)? What are the ranges of rates for lower budget features? What are the crew sizes? Do many US low budget features come through and if so what is the translator situation like? I understand that a significant number of people in Tokyo speak English, is an interpreter even necessary?What is a typical workday length? what is a typical work week length? Etc, Etc...

I realize these are very general questions, and answers are specific to each project, but I'm just trying to get an accurate feel for what will happen. I want to be as aware as possible so I can speak with knowledge when the time comes.

I appreciate any assistance, please PM me with any kind of answers or suggestions you may have.

Thank you
Ryan Samul

Stephen Lovett
12-01-2011, 01:23 PM
Hi Ryan,

I'd recommend you contact Kaku Ito here on the forumn.

Best,

Steve

David Collard
12-01-2011, 01:38 PM
Also try International Motion Picture Company for assistance. It's primarily what they do on low budgets.
•*Translation situation is great. Have you been there recently? An interpreter in the form of a first A.D. could do the job.