PDA

View Full Version : Is this for real?



Who ME
01-16-2008, 02:32 PM
R3d to CineForm (http://inindie.com/iris/showthread.php?t=1314)

No way...

I Bloom
01-16-2008, 02:41 PM
R3d to CineForm (http://inindie.com/iris/showthread.php?t=1314)

No way...

Holy shit.

Wait a minute Who ME: I call sock puppet. :sarcasm:
http://www.reduser.net/forum/uploaded/582_1200523891.jpg

David Newman
01-16-2008, 02:42 PM
You guys are fast, I only just posted on that here:
http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7735

Who ME
01-16-2008, 02:47 PM
WOW...Giddy

BASSAM MSSALATIE
01-16-2008, 02:58 PM
IT is realy very big news.. what do we need to try it ??:ohmy:
i mean recommended platform ..:sarcasm:

David Newman
01-16-2008, 03:05 PM
i mean recommended platform ..:sarcasm:

Minimum I have tested on it a 2.8Ghz P4 with 2GB RAM, RAM is likely needed, clock speed and the number of cores the faster it goes. I have recently received a beautiful 8-core HP at 3.16Ghz (WoW!, HP this is nice), but we have yet to thread over all 8-cores reliably (4 cores is the sweet spot.) Even running 4 threads the 8-core HP, is way faster than any of our Quads or Dual-dual PCs. Recommended: at least Core 2 Duo with 2GB under XP, although it works fine under XP64 and should work under Vista.

Some of this info is or will be placed on the tech note: http://www.cineform.com/products/TechNotes/R3DConvert.htm

BASSAM MSSALATIE
01-16-2008, 03:12 PM
David you are amazing . i have seen this
Note the Following:

To transcode into CineForm RAW or CineForm 444 you MUST have Build 151 of either Neo 4K or Prospect 4K installed
To export to DPX files you MUST have either Neo Player (free and never expires), Neo 4K, or Prospect 4K installed


is that mean we have to install those new software version to let it work.

David Newman
01-16-2008, 03:18 PM
Sorry, 151 (now 152) only is required for the curves to correctly encoded if you enable the CineForm RAW mode. Early builds are licenses will support DPX and CineForm 422 or 444 within any issues.

Joel Kaye
01-16-2008, 03:21 PM
Some of this info is or will be placed on the tech note: http://www.cineform.com/products/TechNotes/R3DConvert.htm

Find a way to get this working on the new Macs using all the cores and get the footage through FCP and Color and I really think you'll have something of significant additional value. Thanks for all the work.

If you can speed up the workflow / rendering while keeping terrific quality that's going to hook a lot of people.

David Newman
01-16-2008, 03:53 PM
Yes, if there is enough interest in native Mac OS X support we might do that. It should work fine under bootcamp (fast), Parallels (not so fast) and I heard good things about VMware Fusion.