PDA

View Full Version : SCRATCH-Light and SCRATCH-Light +



Andrew M.
02-24-2008, 06:03 AM
How many of you will buy SCRATCH-Light version that would be restricted to 1080p on output only (input unrestricted or 4K) and will come as a software only, for $3000 ? (no computer included)

SCRATCH-Light will run on the Intel SkullTrail and strict set of recommended parts that you could put it together yourself, if you know how to assemble computer from off the shelve parts, or you could purchase computer from Assimilate for additional price.

SCRATCH-Light+ will be restricted to 2K on output only (input unrestricted or 4K) and will support, and come with, some of the originally supplied, unique to the SCRATCH-Full version hardware, like control surface, tablet, etc. for $9000 (no computer included)

Please vote for SCRATCH-Light or SCRATCH-Light+

Some links to items that will not be included but easy to upgrade latter to.
http://www.jlcooper.com/cgi/index.cgi?home
http://www.tangentdevices.co.uk/

Links to the SCRATCH-Full itself.
http://www.assimilateinc.com/scratch.html


Andrew

laguun
02-24-2008, 06:08 AM
How many of you will buy SCRATCH-Light version that would be restricted to 1080p and will come as a software only, for $3000 ? (no computer included)

SCRATCH-Light will run on the Intel SkullTrail and strict set of recommended parts that you could put it together yourself, if you know how to assemble computer from off the shelve parts, or you could purchase computer from them.

SCRATCH-Light+ will be restricted to 2K and will support, and come with, some of the originally supplied (unique to the SCRATCH-Full version) hardware. (control surface, tablet, etc.) for $9000 (no computer included)

Please vote for SCRATCH-Light or SCRATCH-Light+

Andrew

Andrew, dont hold your breath, Assimilate has made it pretty clear that they dont see a market for this.

When the redcode raw format is finally disclosed, you will certainly see the raw workflow DI specialist, iridas, jumping in. They have a 9.999 solution (speedgrade HD), and already support raw from Arri, cineform, s:i, phantom 65 etc. and made it pretty clear that they want to support red as soon as red allows 3hrd party support.

Andrew M.
02-24-2008, 06:42 AM
I don’t know who is marketing director in Assimilate but hooking up users on the SCRATCH-Llight version and then giving them the option to upgrade is called low level entry marketing technique.
If they don’t see market for it, I guess they are talking about the past and DI processes. With RED just opening the digital movie market for other then elite producer, there will be quite a big market soon.
They just don’t see the shifting forces of the digital market yet. Just 10,000 RED users in two years is enough to make a move. Some people have the vision and some don’t.

Brent J. Craig
02-24-2008, 07:54 AM
I have always thought super-expensive imaging software should be licensed based on an 'intended-output' model.

Let the Red wedding shooters output SD with a $500 version
Output HD for $1000
Output 4K for $$$

Perhaps even a usage-based model would work. Give people access to the entire toolset, but charge $50/hr for SD output, $100/hr for HD output, etc. That way you would have access to the technology, but only incur costs when clients are paying for it!

Would there be an incentive for people, for example, to use pirated copies of Photoshop if they could buy a fifty-dollar version that lets them do their web graphics and maybe print some 4 by 6's?

Michele Gavazzeni
02-24-2008, 01:00 PM
with an upgadable Scratch and 10,000 RED users, i can easily predict at least 6000 copies of Scratch light sold and more than 4000 copies upgraded in the following 2.5 years.

But this are marketing choices
limiting the output resolution is a good way to differentiate products

laguun
02-24-2008, 01:46 PM
with an upgadable Scratch and 10,000 RED users, i can easily predict at least 6000 copies of Scratch light sold and more than 4000 copies upgraded in the following 2.5 years.

But this are marketing choices
limiting the output resolution is a good way to differentiate products

It doesnt need to be assimilate.
once red discloses their fileformat and allows the software the support of their camera, there will be a lot of choice, better, weaker, cheaper, more expensive, name it.

right now, redraw is -intentionally- restricted to a 2K 8bit rgb offline editing on OSX and a 50.000 DI on Windows XP.
Once this beta-post is over, the usual suspects (Avid, DVS, iridas, cineform, Adobe etc) will glady take care of the interested buyers (which are 1000s).

Jim McKinney
02-24-2008, 01:51 PM
Well, if they were to offer it, I certainly hope they would offer 4K, 3K and 2K input. Otherwise, it's a waste of time.

Michele Gavazzeni
02-24-2008, 02:48 PM
It doesnt need to be assimilate.
For sure but i like the way files are handled and i like the interface too.


there will be a lot of choice
I hope but i'm not so sure.


right now, redraw is restricted to a 2K 8bit rgb offline editing on OSX and a 50.000 DI on Windows XP.
That's the main problem right now Red needs developers to create products (software and hardware) that share the same philosophy.

If this is not going to happen, i think a big part of the revolution will be lost on the way.

One could own an extraordinary camera but need to invest as much as the camera price in basic accessories and more than twice the camera price to be able to use its footage without loosing quality while you edit it.

Andrew M.
02-25-2008, 08:50 AM
right now, redraw is -intentionally- restricted to a 2K 8bit rgb offline editing on OSX and a 50.000 DI on Windows XP.
Once this beta-post is over, the usual suspects (Avid, DVS, iridas, cineform, Adobe etc) will glady take care of the interested buyers (which are 1000s).

I think there is inexpensive path of 10 bit log or 16 bit linear out there with Premiere.
Correct me if I am wrong but you can export 16 bit tiffs or 10 bit log DPX to AE and then to Premiere?

I didnít try this path since 8 bit TIFF works fine straight in to Premiere so it is enough for experiments till I get my camera. By then maybe CineForm Prospect 4K will be ready

Andrew Madu
02-25-2008, 10:38 AM
By then maybe CineForm Prospect 4K will be ready

Ready?

Andrew M.
02-25-2008, 12:39 PM
Ready?

I think REDCINE export to Cineform is not ready yet till NAB.

Anybody could confirm or deny it?

josh
03-05-2008, 10:11 AM
If this is not going to happen, i think a big part of the revolution will be lost on the way.

One could own an extraordinary camera but need to invest as much as the camera price in basic accessories and more than twice the camera price to be able to use its footage without loosing quality while you edit it.


Then I guess we're not in the mists of a "Revolution". But just a simple turn of a notch.

I knew it was too good to be true.