Thread: On set ?? help needed

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 On set ?? help needed 
    Senior Member Alonzo Von Threet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    129
    How to aspect ratio on Scarlet ???
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Alonzo Von Threet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    129
    I guessing there isn't anyway to change it on the Scarlet.

    the Director says it is on an Epic.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Do you mean setting up frame lines or do you mean changing the aspect ratio of the recording?
    David Mullen, ASC
    Los Angeles
    http://www.davidmullenasc.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Andy White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,919
    If you're using anamorphics and want Ana mode in camera (desqueezed footage), that's only on the Epic. But, if you have external monitoring, you could change the A/R there - at least the Director/Clients (etc) will get to see the correct A/R on their monitors.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Alonzo Von Threet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    129
    He means change the resolution but keep the same aspect ratio. He wants to change the Scarlet from 1:1but same res.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,483
    I'm assuming you are attempting for a WS format (2.37:1) which is not on the Scarlet at higher resolutions, but is on the Epic. What you can do is create a frame guide for that though and record in whatever format you'd like with that guide enabled. As mentioned ANA is not on there.

    The Scarlet's "full" resolutions are 1.9:1 (such as 4K or 3K for instance). When you see the "HD" designation after the format that's a 1.78:1 aspect ratio, or more commonly described as 16x9.

    To change the resolution on the camera there is a menu on the top of the screen that informs you what format you're currently in. Either press that via the touch screen or select that via Side Handle or Redmote and choose the resolution you'd like to capture in.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Alonzo Von Threet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    129
    Much thanks. So there is no other way to do it, which is what I was trying to explain to the director. Thanks again.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts