Thread: Dragon Noise Confirmation

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 158
  1. #1 Dragon Noise Confirmation 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    448
    I just wanted to post an R3D from our first gig with our new Dragon. We upgraded to the latest firmware 5.1.38 and performed the default Black Shade after the camera warmed up for about 15 minutes. This project was shot at 23.976 fps and 48th shutter so we did not do the custom Black Shade.

    Just based on my Epic experience from the last couple of years, this seems a little noisy for ISO 800. What do you guys think?

    https://copy.com/ieWlbCV16dvJ
    https://copy.com/wSqX4r9mPvIn

    Look at the noise in the shadows. Let me know if you have issues downloading these R3Ds.

    Thanks!
    KENNY MOSHER
    Director of Photography, Colorist
    www.showdownvisual.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bruxelles, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    247
    2nd link not working
    No Problem Production, Bruxelles, Belgium
    No Problem
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member luigivaltulini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Switzerland- LUGANO
    Posts
    2,226
    Kenny you have old or new OLPF?
    You went from 5.1.35 to 5.1.38?


    I think you're seeing this ..
    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...g-to-us/page51
    Last edited by luigivaltulini; 02-28-2014 at 10:44 AM.
    Grading Suite Davinci Resolve, Rental RED Digital camera.
    WEAPON CF #831 "AUDREY"
    SCARLET-W #45 "HEIDI " , EPIC #668 .
    ARRI ALEXA EV


    SITE
    www.cine5k.ch

    www.rsi.ch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Domenic Barbero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Seattle/Portland/LA
    Posts
    1,799
    Looks pretty acceptable to me. Not totally noise free but its not displeasing to my eye. Just ran a quick grade on it. Seems to be fine.
    Attached Images
    DP/Director/Producer
    www.domenicthedp.com
    www.nw-camera.com

    Arri Alexa Mini, Arri Amira
    RED Forged Weapon, RED Epic-X Dragon
    RED Scarlet W
    RED Scarlet-X Dragon
    Canon C300 Mark i/ii
    Sony A7s ii, Sony RX10 ii
    Canon FD PL lens set 24,28,35,50,85,135
    Celere HS PL lens set 25,36,50,85
    Leica R, 19,24,35,50,80,135 duclos
    Dog Schidt Optics Trump series 38,58,88
    Canon CNE 24,35,50,85,135,70-200
    Contax Zeiss 25,35,50,85,100,180,300 superspeeds
    GL Optics 18-35
    GL Optics 70-200
    tokina 11-16
    Sigma 18-35
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Given this is 5K material it looks about normal to me, although the shot is underexposed, I'd say correct exposure (assuming it wasn't a creative choice) would have been ISO 1280.
    Here is a 1:1 crop of the noise at ISO 1280 from a full debayered output...
    "All art is deception."

    My DP reel...
    http://www.evingrantdp.com
    http://www.YouTube.com/evingrant
    360º Cinematography and camera rigs...
    http://www.360dop.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    It doesn't seem to very sharp... I am curious.... This seems like such simple test and shot... But I can't believe it is on a Dragon, or even an Alexa.... There seems to be no sharpness ( I should be able to see pores at this image size) and also it does seem to be a little noisy ...

    I shot my feature on Dragon... 800 SSDs and have projected at 4K in a theater and not one of the shots looks like this... And I used smoke and diffusion...

    Curious
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Under exposed. And yes, a bit soft. That said, it looks just fine overall and by the time it's sampled down to 4K or lower we probably wouldn't need to add any sharpening, although I probably would add just a wee bit.
    - Jeff Kilgroe
    - Applied Visual Technologies, LLC | RojoMojo
    - Weaponized Dragon for hire. 8K available... "soon"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Yes as stated here your histogram does not peak even when I bring it up to 5600ISO.... so basically you only used the lower end of the sensor. Simply you shot your scene more than f4 stops under perfect exposure...

    If you would have exposed to the right and then pushed down 4 stops, then your image would have looked exactly the same... but made out of glass instead of sandpaper :)


    So yes, looks about right for well under exposed 800 ISO.

    See screendump when brought up to 6800ISO with no clipping.


    Evin just so I understand what do you mean with " I'd say correct exposure (assuming it wasn't a creative choice) would have been ISO 1280." ?

    I mean he got 4 or 5 stops to go before he's highlights hit the roof so no real reason for laying so low if clean image is the goal, or? Needs to open up or bring more lights simply. Or just see the noise go away in the downsampling :)
    Attached Images
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se
    Flame - 3D - Milo MoCo
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Stacey Spears's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sammamish, WA
    Posts
    3,058
    Not sure how it impacts noise, but the .38 readme really stresses the need to blackshade after this firmware update. More so than previous builds I recall.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    448
    Thanks guys for the feedback. I am still trying to figure out the best way to set exposure on the Dragon, but I agree that its underexposed. This is the old OLPF FYI. I am not sure what FW we were on because I updated it right when we got it back from Red.
    KENNY MOSHER
    Director of Photography, Colorist
    www.showdownvisual.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts