Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Ethernet Cables for REDLINK Development

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53
  1. #1 Ethernet Cables for REDLINK Development 
    Senior Member Andrew Gentle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    595
    I love the idea of the REDLINK SDK and am keen to see what people come up with.

    Matthew mentioned in another thread that REDLINK SDK will be able to communicate via the Ethernet LEMO on the DSMC brain.

    The only cable available at the moment for this is the 9' one in the RED Store. Is anyone aware of anybody selling cables of different lengths? The DSMC Operation manual gives the pinout and the LEMO required to connect on page 120 (FGG.0B.309.CLAD32Z) but they must be a pain to wire yourself.
    Scarlet-X DRAGON #64
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    I'd actually like a LEMO to RJ-45 jack pigtail cable about 2' in length. Then we can plug that into the brain and tie it off and run whatever length of cable we want from there. With the current 9' one it's a bit more awkward with the connector being 9' out. And we then have to wire up a jack to one end, which is not very robust for on-set use if we're using commonly available keystone type jacks. Or we can just use a coupler, but that adds one more connection point in the chain.
    - Jeff Kilgroe
    - Applied Visual Technologies, LLC | RojoMojo
    - Just me and my 8K Monstro VV kicking ass.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member JP Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    176
    Good idea, Jeff! An inline female ethernet jack. Meanwhile, you could epoxy a good quality coupler to the connector.
    graycatfilms.com // jpperry.net
    We make films that connect. Film and video production in Portland, Oregon.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto & Vancouver
    Posts
    3,665
    Just to check up on this; did anyone find a shorter cable? Like 1ft?

    I'm thinking if we can find a USB powered portable router with a 1gbit port, wouldn't it make for a very cheap FoolControl set up? Just p-tap-to-USB for the router, and then Cat5e-to-Lemo from router to Camera... then let FoolControl do its thing?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    921
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike P. View Post
    Just to check up on this; did anyone find a shorter cable? Like 1ft?

    I'm thinking if we can find a USB powered portable router with a 1gbit port, wouldn't it make for a very cheap FoolControl set up? Just p-tap-to-USB for the router, and then Cat5e-to-Lemo from router to Camera... then let FoolControl do its thing?
    This *should* work. I'm exploring the same option.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Jacek Zakowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,276
    Like this?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mini-WiFi-Wi...item35da8cf18c
    That's a great idea...
    Jacek Zakowicz, Optitek-dot-org, jacek2@optitek.org
    Professional Broadcast and Digital Cinema Equipment
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    The problem is that the Epic requires gigabit ethernet. I have not been able to find a portable 10/100/1000 wifi router.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto & Vancouver
    Posts
    3,665
    Yes, Jacek, that's exactly what I was thinking.

    Unfortunately, while I only spent a little while looking, finding a portable router with 1gigabit is actually not as easy as you'd think (I honestly thought all ports went to 1gigabit within a year after it was introduced... but apparently not).

    Similarly, haven't found a cheaper alternative to RED's own 9ft Cat5e-to-Lemo... Was thinking about starting separate thread, but I have no idea what sub forum it should go into....
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Jacek Zakowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,276
    I think this is wifi n standard 300Mbs not wired . Wired it should be 1Gb since you can't make wireless 300Mbs from a 100 Mbs ethernet... and you can always use USB to computer...
    Jacek Zakowicz, Optitek-dot-org, jacek2@optitek.org
    Professional Broadcast and Digital Cinema Equipment
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    I'm using these cables, and the work well:

    http://search.tecnec.com/search#w=rd1-enet
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts