Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Ethernet Cables for REDLINK Development

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 53
  1. #11  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto & Vancouver
    Posts
    3,708
    Is it the same pin-out as DSMC/Scarlet/Epic? That is to say, you're using it with a DSMCamera and not an R1, right?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Using with Epic Dragon SN 6001. The description on the site is terrible, so I bought the cables to test, and they work.

    I'm interested in the GigE Travel Router too if anyone comes up with a workable solution there...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    216
    Jacek, I have tried this exact router on my Epic, and it does not work, as the wired Ethernet port is only 10/100. Also looking for a travel router that supports gigabit, coming up empty.
    -Nick Timmons
    Pamoramic Digital Cinema
    Epic-M #1290 'Ruth'
    NYC, NY

    Cooke Mini S4's (18, 25, 32, 50, 75, 100mm)
    Teradeck Bolt
    Preston FIZ 3 with Cinetape
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member Hurcan Yilmazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    336
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833285004
    What about this one? Not as small but has usb powering option with gige ethernet port
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto & Vancouver
    Posts
    3,708
    That one should work Hurcan. It's probably 1/2 empty inside too, so you could basically hack off the extra ports and make a smaller encapsulation... Unless the PCB runs the entire length of the case. Gugh. These things are like $15-$50; it's seems kind of sketchy to have to pay hundreds for the exact same functionality.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    931
    The Zuni router is what I found, but looking more into it, seems like the company's not quite active. Anyone from California know? Their fb page has not been updated since 2012.

    http://www.zunidigital.com/?page_id=218

    Its perfect tho, about the size of a cigarette pack apparently.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Nils Ruinet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,353
    That's interesting, so you mean this little Zuni router (which can be powered through USB) plus one of these Laird Ethernet to Lemo cables would allow to replace a Redlink box and use iPhone apps like Foolcontrol ? That sounds great.

    Jacek, can you confirm that this would allow to use at the same time your Optitron 2 and iPhone apps ? From what I understand, the Optitron receiver plugs into the CTRL port of the camera, and this router would go into the Ethernet port, right ? If that's the case, could both work at the same time ?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Senior Member David Kuhn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Corning NY
    Posts
    656
    There are quite a few rj-45 to wireless-n modules out there... here's another one: http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Univer...8YRAJJ7EYGNBH0

    Most of them will be powered by either ethernet or a small transformer (down to 9 or 12v).
    David Kuhn
    Epic-M Dragon Monochrome #1995 (Dilbert)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Senior Member Jacek Zakowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,296
    Quote Originally Posted by Nils Ruinet View Post
    That's interesting, so you mean this little Zuni router (which can be powered through USB) plus one of these Laird Ethernet to Lemo cables would allow to replace a Redlink box and use iPhone apps like Foolcontrol ? That sounds great.

    Jacek, can you confirm that this would allow to use at the same time your Optitron 2 and iPhone apps ? From what I understand, the Optitron receiver plugs into the CTRL port of the camera, and this router would go into the Ethernet port, right ? If that's the case, could both work at the same time ?
    That's why I'm looking as well Nils ;)
    Best, j
    Jacek Zakowicz, Optitek-dot-org, jacek2@optitek.org
    Professional Broadcast and Digital Cinema Equipment
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member Robert Hofmeyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by David Kuhn View Post
    There are quite a few rj-45 to wireless-n modules out there... here's another one: http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Univer...8YRAJJ7EYGNBH0

    Most of them will be powered by either ethernet or a small transformer (down to 9 or 12v).
    Don't think that Netgear is gigabit ethernet. From the Amazon page: "Gigabit Ethernet Port-No"
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts