Thread: Avid S3D Problem.... Can't Generate EDL'S to export to Resolve for Color Grading

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1 Avid S3D Problem.... Can't Generate EDL'S to export to Resolve for Color Grading 
    Senior Member John Le's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    296
    Hi,

    I've just shot a Feature film natively with Red One's. I then used Avid to cut the trailer and will shortly beigin to cut the entire film. We cut the footage using AMA links to the files.

    We now want to export the trailer sequence into Resolve for color correction. But the EDL manager keeps crashing.

    Anyone with experience know how to resolve this problem?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member MichaelP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,567
    What version of Media Composer? Have you tried an AAF rather than an EDL?

    Michael
    ‎"There are a thousand ways to point a camera, but really only one."
    Ernst Lubitsch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member John Le's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    296
    Its MC 7, for some reason... Resolve cant ingest the AAF that we've generated... not sure why...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,864
    Quote Originally Posted by John Le View Post
    Its MC 7, for some reason... Resolve cant ingest the AAF that we've generated... not sure why...
    Try an AAF with media exported to a folder. Not media embedded. Resolve prefers to see MXF media in a folder separate from the AAF.
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member MichaelP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,567
    As mentioned -just export the AAF "link to" since you want to conform to the camera originals anyway, and not the MXF proxies.

    Michael
    ‎"There are a thousand ways to point a camera, but really only one."
    Ernst Lubitsch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,523
    And make sure you have AAF Edit Protocol enabled.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member MichaelP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,567
    As M Most says, when using AMA linking in pre v7 version of MC you need to use "edit protocol" or transcode everything first. In v7, that is no longer required for AMA linked files.

    Michael
    ‎"There are a thousand ways to point a camera, but really only one."
    Ernst Lubitsch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    6,353
    You also might try exporting an XML instead, and place that inside the media folder. Nikolai Waldman's Resolve Collect is a useful utility that can move just the actual source files you need for the project:

    http://www.niwa.nu/resolve-collect/

    As long as the reel numbers and timecode numbers are correct, XML should work. I've had limited success with AAF's, going back to 6.5, and in a few crunches we've had to limp by with just EDL's when there was just no time to troubleshoot the issue.

    If you have to, you can always use the sledgehammer approach and have the editor pre-conform the whole thing using ProRes 444 2K RedLogFilm files, assuming you only have to deliver 2K files. For 4K, you have to conform it within Resolve.
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts