Thread: HotLink or Redlink Bridge

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 66
  1. #11  
    anyone using Foolcontrol with a wireless router (non REDLINK non HOTLINK) and the RED GIG-E cable:

    http://www.red.com/store/products/le...hernet-cable-9

    is it possible?

    best wishes and kind regards,
    martin
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member Mikael Lubtchansky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,352
    It is possible and works well. The only problem is finding a portable, easy to power from camera GIG-E router.

    All the small ones are only 10/100 as they are often made for residential use and since wifi cannot reach GIG-E speed...

    And altho the foolcontrol bandwith is very small, sadly the ethernet interface on camera requires GIG-E on the other end.
    foolcat : HTML / PDF visual reports for OS X
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for OS X
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for iOS
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for Android
    foolcolor.net staying hungry, staying foolish facebook instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member Wil Wong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    834
    I too went with the Redlink cause it has no cables AND I would use it while using Redvolts say on a Ronin. Guess I just rather have less cables and a clean setup and save the extra cost. I also don't have anywhere to mount the hotlink since I don't put on any plates/cage.

    If you don't mind having lots of stuff connected on the camera or use V-mount/AB batteries as your main power source, I think the hotlink is the better choice. Redlink is good if you don't need another module at the back.
    Movme inc.
    Red Epic-W s/n 4015, 8K Digital Cinema Camera
    MacBook Pro 6 core, FCP-X
    DJI Ronin, Ready Rig, Vaxis 500+, Tilta Nucleus-M, OSEE HSM-700, Dynacore Mini
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member Jarek Zabczynski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    2,392
    I don't understand why they didn't make the Redlink module with an open back for more modules. Wasn't that the whole point of the design?
    Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it.

    Jarek Zabczynski
    Director / Editor / Cinematographer


    Weapon 8K | www.jarek.com | WE'LL BE ALRIGHT (Music Video) | BAJO EL SOL (Music Video)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member Peter Majtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    3,985
    Wil - you can mount the HOTLINK directly to the top of the camera in front of the cooling fan - it will attach to the -20 taps on the front edge of the camera right above the lens mount - you don't need any plates, etc...

    Jarek - the current REDLINK was meant for developers to give them head-start on developing apps and solutions for the new protocol. RED has clearly mentioned that more modules and accessories with the REDLINK protocol would be released later on...

    Peter
    You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!
    www.petermajtan.com - www.derylgroup.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member Wil Wong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    834
    Good point Peter but that's where I put the 5" Touch monitor. Not a fan of putting the monitor on arms.
    Movme inc.
    Red Epic-W s/n 4015, 8K Digital Cinema Camera
    MacBook Pro 6 core, FCP-X
    DJI Ronin, Ready Rig, Vaxis 500+, Tilta Nucleus-M, OSEE HSM-700, Dynacore Mini
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Mikael Lubtchansky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,352
    Quote Originally Posted by Wil Wong View Post
    Good point Peter but that's where I put the 5" Touch monitor. Not a fan of putting the monitor on arms.
    On super compact setup you can always velcro the hotlink on the side of your camera as it very small or fix it on a tactical Z even if you have no top plate or anything...
    foolcat : HTML / PDF visual reports for OS X
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for OS X
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for iOS
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for Android
    foolcolor.net staying hungry, staying foolish facebook instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Senior Member Jonathan Petts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    London,UK
    Posts
    136
    You can use the RedLink with an on camera battery solution -

    Here is ours





    No issues with signal when we tested the signal range, you still have the ability to mount what ever you want as the mounting screw positions are still there.

    It is also low cost and if you dont want your ports by the Hotlink taken up (+ spending $50) it opens up your ports.

    Of course if you have other modules on the back such as the I/O but for those who just need battery solutions, I have found this to be ideal.


    Jonny


    EDIT - Also I was talking to Mikael at BSC and he had a theroy that they didnt add the moudule adapter on the back because of power passing thorugh the unit may have cost more or was a bit tricky with this sepcific unit (additionally this is only beta and many never get a full release).
    Last edited by Jonathan Petts; 02-01-2015 at 10:37 AM.
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5401988/

    Ex- RED Dragon / Epic Owner
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Senior Member Wil Wong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    834
    I believe someone had also converted the RedLink into a adapter module...or at least I think they tried to. Can't remember if they were successful.
    Movme inc.
    Red Epic-W s/n 4015, 8K Digital Cinema Camera
    MacBook Pro 6 core, FCP-X
    DJI Ronin, Ready Rig, Vaxis 500+, Tilta Nucleus-M, OSEE HSM-700, Dynacore Mini
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member Mikael Lubtchansky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,352
    Quote Originally Posted by Wil Wong View Post
    I believe someone had also converted the RedLink into a adapter module...or at least I think they tried to. Can't remember if they were successful.
    Bjorn did successfuly hack a wifi->serial module into his +1 module...

    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...ule-Syndicated
    foolcat : HTML / PDF visual reports for OS X
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for OS X
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for iOS
    foolcontrol : RED camera control for Android
    foolcolor.net staying hungry, staying foolish facebook instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts