Thread: RedBrick not showing percentage

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1 RedBrick not showing percentage 
    Member michael ho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    55
    Hi all,

    When I am using RedBrick via quickplate module and adaptor plate on the Epic it doesn't show up on the touch lcd screen for the percentage/voltage of battery power... It did before but now it's not showing.. Tried on both batteries same thing. Both RedBricks were charged with RED dual charger.

    Any ideas what might be causing this?

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Peter Majtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    3,985
    Is your quick plate the cable type that plugs into the RED brain's LEMO? If so - check that the two tiny data pins are not bent or otherwise damaged inside the brain. Mine completely broke off and the pin is still stuck inside the 1B-to-2B RED adaptor cable's LEMO...
    If your quick-plate is the one that does not use cable and provides power directly to the brain via the MODULE ADAPTOR - make sure the connectors between the quick plate and the MA, as well as between the MA and the brain, are clean and not damaged / bent. Look really closely as those pins are tiny...

    Second place I would look are the actual pins on the V-lock plate itself. Push down the plastic covering the pins and make sure they are all well and clean.

    Other then that it could be a loose connection somewhere in the power path (could be inside the V-lock, or the cable itself, etc...).

    Peter
    You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!
    www.petermajtan.com - www.derylgroup.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Member michael ho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    55
    Hi Peter,Thanks for the reply!
    Last edited by michael ho; 01-15-2015 at 08:07 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Wil Wong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    859
    You may have to call your bomb rep for this one. It's very odd considering nothing looks damaged.
    Movme inc.
    Scarlet-X, Epic-X, Dragon, Epic-W, Komodo
    MacBook Pro 6 core, FCP-X, OSEE, Dynacore Tiny Batteries, DJI RS2
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Member michael ho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    55
    Thanks everyone I tried it again this morning and it's working again!!
    Last edited by michael ho; 01-15-2015 at 08:07 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,906
    Quote Originally Posted by michael ho View Post
    Thanks everyone I tried it again this morning and it's working again!!
    Did anything change? I know we had a similar issue and then updated firmware and believe it went away...about 6 months ago...

    best
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7 Me too! 
    Senior Member Antony M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sussex, England & Sachsen, Germany
    Posts
    775
    Coincidence.
    I was just about to post the same problem.
    Ever since I have had my Epic, with Red battery belt pack and GlobalMediaPro batteries, the "Time Remaining" display has worked fine...

    Until about 2 weeks ago!

    Now it just shows the voltage.

    Nothing seems wrong with the connectors.

    Firmware is 5.2.41

    Last edited by Antony M; 01-26-2015 at 05:23 AM. Reason: added firmware version
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member JP Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    176
    Same problem for me. I remember the LCD used to show the percentage remaining, now it just shows the voltage...even if "Current Batt %" is selected in the "Modes" menu. The problem is, when the battery gets low, the camera now shuts off without any warning.

    What to do?
    graycatfilms.com // jpperry.net
    We make films that connect. Film and video production in Portland, Oregon.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member JP Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    176
    I just checked my battery plate with a voltmeter and noticed that one of the small Lemo pins has no continuity through to the battery plate. It's pin 3 "Serial battery bus clock" according to the DSMC Operation Guide.

    Pin 6 "Serial battery bus data" does have continuity, as do the four power pins.

    Is this the cause of my problem? Can someone else please check their battery plate at report back?
    Attached Images
    graycatfilms.com // jpperry.net
    We make films that connect. Film and video production in Portland, Oregon.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member JP Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    176
    Interesting. I have my battery plate wired correctly and still cannot get the display to show PERCENTAGE or TIME, only VOLTAGE.

    Anyone able to help?
    graycatfilms.com // jpperry.net
    We make films that connect. Film and video production in Portland, Oregon.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts