Thread: Encoding for REDRAY tutorial

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1 Encoding for REDRAY tutorial 
    Hello,

    I'm trying to encode material for a REDRAY player and I'm struggling. I have looked through the forums and searched for instructions but can't find anything.

    I have got as far as creating a 16-bit TIFF Image sequence. I have RED CINE X PRO 35.1 with a REDRAY licence.

    This is where i'm stuck. I believe I need to encode to the .RED codec.

    Can anyone advise? Or point me in the direction of a tutorial video or anything that will help?

    Many thanks

    Stephen
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Chris McKechnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,100
    If memory serves me correctly, you have to backdate your RED Cine X (can't use the latest version). I forgot exactly which version supports redray encoding...maybe someone else could chime in. That's what your issue is. I think it was around version 22 something.
    Chris McKechnie
    Director of Photography
    Email - redepicguy@gmail.com
    Reel - https://vimeo.com/314919326
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,819
    Ahoy. I have help for you Stephen.

    - Download the newest REDCINE-X Pro.
    - Under Edit>Preferences>REDRAY sign into your account and install the plugin.
    - You will then want to create a new tab on the right of the GUI for "REDRAY" (next to Look, Framing, Metadata, Etc)
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Blair S. Paulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    4,980
    Great info Phil. Thanx.

    Cheers - #19
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,781
    Was there ever an official announcement regarding redrays death?
    JAKE WILGANOWSKI
    Director of Photography / Filmmaker
    CINE-AUTOMATIC.COM
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Chris McKechnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,100
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    Ahoy. I have help for you Stephen.

    - Download the newest REDCINE-X Pro.
    - Under Edit>Preferences>REDRAY sign into your account and install the plugin.
    - You will then want to create a new tab on the right of the GUI for "REDRAY" (next to Look, Framing, Metadata, Etc)
    That's why they call him...RED Master Phil Holland
    Chris McKechnie
    Director of Photography
    Email - redepicguy@gmail.com
    Reel - https://vimeo.com/314919326
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Hello,

    Thanks for the replies. I'll give that a go and report back.

    Cheers
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    I've got are far as encoding the TIFF sequence into the .RED codec. It's roughly a 26minute film, I now have 30 separate .RED files all around 2GB each.

    I used a 32GB USB 3.0 Flash stick. I formatted it in OS X Disk Utility to MS-DOS (FAT). I then created a top level folder named 'Contents' and dropped 3 of these .RED files into this folder.

    I couldn't drop them all in as the stick is 32GB and the total of all 30 files is 66GB. So I thought I would test with a few files.

    I plugged the USB stick into the front of the RED RAY and nothing. I waited and nothing happened.

    I also tried with a USB 2.0 100GB portable drive. I copied all the 30 .RED files into a folder named 'Contents' and tried that. Still nothing.

    The user manual states 'The REDRAY can interface with the following types of physical media: USB 2.0 flash drive'

    Does the USB stick have to be USB 2.0 only? I used a USB 3.0 stick.

    Any other ideas?





    Thanks
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Sorry, the name of the folder I made was “Content”. Not as previously mentioned.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,065
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    Ahoy. I have help for you Stephen.

    - Download the newest REDCINE-X Pro.
    - Under Edit>Preferences>REDRAY sign into your account and install the plugin.
    - You will then want to create a new tab on the right of the GUI for "REDRAY" (next to Look, Framing, Metadata, Etc)

    I was using the old v21 (?) for a long time, since when was this updated to the new versions?
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts