Thread: building a new system.. need help (hackintosh)

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
    Posts
    1,162
    I don't think you'd get that much performance increase going from a 3930K to anything else unless you go X99 with a 5960X or 6900K to get the 8 cores, or even 6950X to get 10 cores. I don't think the Broadwell-E's are working with OS X yet though. Is your CPU overclocked at all? If not, you'll see a bigger boost doing just that and maybe upgrading your GPU for now once the 1080 is supported. Or just sell your 3930K and upgrade to a 4930K and overclock that (lower power usage and temps than 3930K). My 4930K works flawlessly overclocked to 4.5GHz. Been going strong for well over 2 years now. I don't see much of any reason to upgrade to anything else unless you need Thunderbolt support. All other connectivity (USB 3.0 and 3.1 Gen2) can be added with PCIE cards. CPU's just haven't seen that much performance increase from generation to generation.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
    Posts
    1,162
    Quote Originally Posted by mike percelli View Post
    Yes I prefer the OS X platform, but these programs don't run correctly. Trying to find the right drivers and patches takes hours and if u don't find the correct ones it becomes a s@$t show.
    What programs don't run correctly? I have zero issues running any software on my hackintosh that runs on any normal Mac. As far as drivers go, you do need to make sure the hardware you choose is fully compatible, including the connectivity, chipsets, etc. of the motherboard. You can't just pick any motherboard. Certain motherboards will work infinitely better than others.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    www.adkvideoediting.com
    Posts
    877
    Cinemartin and Acrok allow you to transcode to Pro Res on Windows. I would suggest taking a look at Acrok, link below if nothing else since it's a cheap little transcoder that also supports H265 and DNxHD and should be DNxHR at this point. Either way It works on Windows or OSX so a very nice tool to have if you need some other encoding options and it's cheap. The i7 Workstation chips support 128GB of ram and were not limited to 64GB by the memory controller. At the time of the release of Haswell unbuffered density maxed at 8GB dimms. That has changed now to 16GB Dimms so you can run 128GB of ram. I also suggest the 6950X system at this point as the primary editing workstation platform for most workflows. The Xeon chips would be situational based on heavy CG, compositing workflows for the most part and GPU acceleration for even those applications if available can change that.

    http://www.acrok.com/
    Last edited by Eric Bowen; 06-16-2016 at 02:54 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    48
    5960x to my knowledge. But someone will figure out the new chips real quick. Look on tonymacx.com. They have tons of people trying different chips and how they got them to work
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    48
    I have a 5960 and and Asus deluxe x99. I have all the right components and drivers but for some reason my setup has some demons in it that have cause me some problems. It's stable for the most part and OC'd to 4.1.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Quote Originally Posted by Zakaree Sandberg View Post
    trying to put together a new system..Would like to transcode dragon footage as quick as possible.. at 1/2 rescurrently have a titan.. will hopefully be upgrading to the new titan or 1080TI (when available) and as long as it works with OSXmy biggest issue is figuring out what CPU to use..some people were suggesting 6700k, however i feel like 4 cores wont really do it.. I currently have a 3930k (6 core)
    Greetings RR community, from Sydney Australia.

    You can spend $1k to $1.5k on your current system to get 33% performance boost to your 3930k, and up to 400% more ram, with an overclocked E5 1680 v2, for:

    X79: E5 1680 v2. 32,000 ish GB. USD: $1000
    https://browser.primatelabs.com/geek...ulticore_score

    or:

    X99 6950x. Mac, 51,000 GB! USD: $1700
    https://browser.primatelabs.com/geek...ulticore_score

    I have NO affiliation, just thought you might like to know.

    With no X99 system from Apple, HTers have had to jump through some hoops to get X99 systems going.
    Big strides recently, still not 100%.
    Sierra looks promising for a more vanilla install. xcmp power management etc.

    Here's a taste of what you're in for on X99:
    https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/201...ted-processor/
    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/top...dstep-working/
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/th...4#post-1285295


    TLDR: Choose the right high end Asus board, follow some of the guides and you'll have a working 6950x system, albeit without sleep/hibernation.

    Next best for full X79 support would be the E5 1680 v2. Same CPU as an actual nMP, and the only 8 core overclockable cpu for X79.
    Time of this post (August 2016) Used, $1k-ish USD ebay GB: 32,000 with overclock.

    All 6 and 8 core 16xx Xeon's are overclockable. The 4 core 1620 is the exception.

    An E5 1680 v2 is basically a drop in replacement cpu for your current 3930k rig... And a completely new Clover build+ bios update. Which you can max out with up to 256gb of inexpensive DDR3 ecc ram!
    Wonder if that much ram would offset the 'slow' speed compared to DDR4?

    The 1680 v2 is a very unique chip with its 25mb l3 cache.

    A 10 core die, 2 cores disabled, one off that Intel did for Apple. Architecturally, the progenitor to the 6950x, as you can see from here:
    http://ark.intel.com/compare/63696,6...95,92985,94456
    Last edited by Nicholas Croft; 08-06-2016 at 07:22 AM. Reason: errors, clarity
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    If I could use Pomfort Silverstack & transcode with Davinci Resolve, ProRes, on windows, that would be my system! And not have to go through all the "possibly works" on my hackintosh.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Frank. Do you already have a hack?

    The key to getting finesse (total stability and 100% dependable behaviour) is some fine tuning of "under the hood" stuff - specifically power management - the interaction between the motherboard bios, the cpu and mac os, and the "IRQ" - timings between devices like usb.

    There are free, comprehensive, guides here:

    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/gu...gement.127574/
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/fi...a-ssdt.190722/
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/ss...ection.183354/

    If that has you running for the hills, then you CAN get paid for assistance - someone will do the above tricky stuff for you if you can "interrogate" your hardware and send them a specialised report, known as an IOreg.

    Google "rampagedev", there's a guy in the UK who will provide you the necessary "drag and drop" files (into your bootloader, so there is still a small amount of work for you too) to get the finesse alluded to - for a fee.

    n.b. I have no affiliation with any of the above. (mods, I'm not touting for business, nor taking kickbacks - just been down this path too).
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts