Thread: Epic-W internal mics

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1 Epic-W internal mics 
    Senior Member Steve DiMaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1,295
    Anyone have an example of the internal audio on the epic-w?

    Steve
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Louis Maddalena's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,912
    I do not but its not good. For editors reference only for sync, definitely would not use as actual audio.
    Louis Maddalena
    New York Based.

    CF Weapon, Epic-W, Leica Summicron-Cs, Schneider Xeons, available for rent nationwide.
    AKS, Lighting and Grip also available. PM for information.

    New Studio: msquaredstudio.tv
    Follow me on Instagram @MSquared_Studio
    New Website: MaddalenaMedia.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Terry VerHaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Marin County, CA
    Posts
    6,987
    Quote Originally Posted by Louis Maddalena View Post
    I do not but its not good. For editors reference only for sync, definitely would not use as actual audio.
    Would you say it is worse than DSMC1 or equal?
    Scarlet Dragon
    Scarlet-W
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Josiah Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    322
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry VerHaar View Post
    Would you say it is worse than DSMC1 or equal?
    There are no internal mics on DSMC1
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Terry VerHaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Marin County, CA
    Posts
    6,987
    Quote Originally Posted by Josiah Duncan View Post
    There are no internal mics on DSMC1
    Sorry - I confused the issue. No internal mics but most definitely internal sound. My question was whether the internal sound processing in DSMC2 was equal or better. Would welcome opinion about internal mics in DSMC2 or external mics.
    Scarlet Dragon
    Scarlet-W
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Andrew Gentle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    598
    I have to say, I am a fan of the mic inputs on the DSMC1, it's been great to just be able to plug in a mic and turn on phantom power, usually running off to a boom.
    The audio input options on the DSMC2 line are the most restrictive aspect that I see with the system, am I correct in saying you need a whole, large DSMC2 Redvolt Expander worth almost $4k to get phantom power on a DSMC2?
    Scarlet-X DRAGON #64
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    28
    You can get one of the OMOD modules instead.
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Gentle View Post
    I have to say, I am a fan of the mic inputs on the DSMC1, it's been great to just be able to plug in a mic and turn on phantom power, usually running off to a boom.
    The audio input options on the DSMC2 line are the most restrictive aspect that I see with the system, am I correct in saying you need a whole, large DSMC2 Redvolt Expander worth almost $4k to get phantom power on a DSMC2?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    737
    Gotta be honest here, the Base I/O audio inputs are not production quality. Perhaps it's my copy of the Base Expander, but I get a constant buzzing/60hz ticking noise in the background. When you turn the gain up in post, it's quite prevalent. I can post a sample is people want to assess the quality of the internal mics and/or the Base I/O Mini Jack input.

    Does anyone else get interference on the rear inputs?
    @ajt4k

    ajt4k.com

    REDucated June 2012

    Scarlet-X #2098
    Raven #61

    CR Entertainment Technician, Video
    DLR Technical Services
    TWDC, Inc.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Steve DiMaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1,295
    I will have my camera with vlock I/o tomorrow but have a wedding to shoot (literally will be putting this camera into use within an hour of receiving)

    For my old job I used to do alot of cymbal and drum head comparison videos, what I will do is a comparison video of the audio using voice, guitar and maybe drums ect. so we all have it for reference.

    I will compare internal mics to rode, sennheisser, dpa ect

    Steve
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Andrew Gentle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex_M View Post
    You can get one of the OMOD modules instead.
    True, I hadn't considered those. Thank you!
    Scarlet-X DRAGON #64
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts