Thread: How to import or link MFX Files created from a Red Weapon

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 How to import or link MFX Files created from a Red Weapon 
    I am somewhat new to media Composer and have shot footage with my Red Weapon MG. I shot RED R3D files and AvidDNxHD files which created a MFX file for every clip.

I am having a hard time figuring out how to quickly import the MXF files and start editing in Media Composer 8.6. Can some one give me advice on workflow and working with files created by the camera? Doesn't seem to be much info online regarding this.

Thanks,
    Greg

When you access the clips via the Soure browser, you will have both R3D and MXF in the older structure. Just select the .MXF files and link to them. They can be linked with the latest version of the RED AMA plug-in, or the MXF AMA plugin.

Michael
    ‎"There are a thousand ways to point a camera, but really only one."
    Ernst Lubitsch

Hello Michael,

I'm also using the MXF route and AVID and would like to know what's best practice.

The MXF files generated by the Weapon are DNxHR SQ 25p 2048x1040 (I pretend to use the same resolution for all the project and cut the framing to 1.91 aspect ration (pillar boxes)).

A) I would love to give the rushes to the edit to make the synch and to start to work with the proxy generated by the Weapon during the shooting
    B) and then finetune the colors in RCX after the shooting, export them and relink the masterclips to the new color corrected MXF.

I don't get this workflow to work as I think it has something to do to with the Linked Media Clips that Weapons generates (Video clips and sound clips) and the Masterclips (Video&sound clips) RedcineX generates.

Do I have to generate an AAF from weapons MXF files and then import the AAF?

Could you give me any hint?

Thanks

Patrick