Thread: Epic-w - Noise Pattern - Is this right?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1 Epic-w - Noise Pattern - Is this right? 
    Senior Member Zack McTee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    142
    All the footage I'm shooting with the epic-w looks awesome, and I haven't had too many complaints - especially with the changes in ipp2 that fixed a lot of the banding.

    I did a fresh auto black shade today after updating to the new firmware. When I booted up the camera, I had an 85mm lens closed all the way, and I noticed there were a lot of horizontal lines in the noise of the blacks.

    When I push the exposure heavily in redcine-x I can see the effect exaggerated. I guess I'm just curious if this is the normal noise structure of this sensor. I don't think I notice it when everything is exposed correctly, but I'd like to know if that is normal.

    Here's a simple screen grab:

    https://s28.postimg.org/6jpn0wiql/Sc...6_51_47_PM.png

    and here's a link to an r3d:

    https://we.tl/l7eLy0wume

    I appreciate any info.
    - zack

    --
    Zack McTee
    zackmctee.com
    twitter.com/zackmctee
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    7
    Doesn't appear that you're alone, Zack. There's two other post about weird noise artifacts after firmware updates, though ours were horizontal versus vertical. Do yours seem to dance around the screen and flash?

    Let's hope there's a solution soon. I was told to send my camera back in. Is that screen capture a crop or an 8k full frame grab?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    288
    Zack do you have the focuss assit on?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Jaimy Soares's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    228
    You're on iso 12800. Offcourse you will see noise then, it's not an a7s.

    Looks perfectly fine otherwise.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    60
    Hi Zack,

    If you're seeing it on your monitor, as Luca said, check if Focus Assist is on. In my experience it's a result of the sharpening that's used, combined with low light that makes it appear "noisy". When I turned it off, I couldn't see any noise on the monitor, even at 6400 ISO.

    Also, turning the ISO up to 12800 will definitely show noise. But I took a quick look at the R3D, and I could still see some banding at 6400.

    Before you recorded the clip, did you let the camera warm up first? You mentioned you saw these artifacts upon boot-up. Also, excuse me for the stupid question because I'm sure you did it properly, but when you blackshaded, you did it after it reached operating temperature?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Brad Grimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaimy Soares View Post
    You're on iso 12800. Offcourse you will see noise then, it's not an a7s.

    Looks perfectly fine otherwise.
    The fact there is noise is not the problem, it's pattern noise. That's not good. I am getting it as well. I hope they fine tune the calibration process.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    I've had vertical line issues too - have calibrated to project settings as well as auto calibration and nothing seems to work perfectly.

    Auto calibration - in a black room, brought up to temp. - seems to be much better at resolving the vertical line/patterned noise when confirming calibration w/ FLUT pumped to +8.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Member Audy Erel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Jakarta-Bandung, Indonesia (Bali)
    Posts
    38
    Yesterday I read someone bashing on Blackmagic's camera because they have a Fixed Pattern Noise issue that can't be resolved whatsoever.. Is this the same kind of thing?
    SCARLET-W #XXXXXX (2017!)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Florianópolis, SC - Brazil
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Audy Erel View Post
    Yesterday I read someone bashing on Blackmagic's camera because they have a Fixed Pattern Noise issue that can't be resolved whatsoever.. Is this the same kind of thing?
    I own a Epic-W and haven't seen this. Auto and Manual blackshade works as it should. Zero FPN here.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Member Kurtis Imel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Las Vegas/Houston
    Posts
    67
    I noticed this issue since receiving my EW in November. I almost contacted RED about it but I thought it was just normal. Every time I do a firmware update I get those weird lines too. I also have to manually calibrate the sensor 2-3 times before getting a usable calibration, as the first calibration seems to give poor results. The best way to check your calibration is to go to the "FLUT" control on your camera, and while the lens cap is on, raise the FLUT control to the max setting. This will let you see any pattern noise or lines that shouldn't be there. IMO, the picture above of your calibration looks ok compared to what I have on my camera.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts