Thread: DNxHD Clips look washed out

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 DNxHD Clips look washed out 
    I have exported DNxHD LB files from RedCine X. When I import these files into Avid MC 8.7 it appears the color space looks off. The files appear to be washed out compared to the RedCine look which has more of a crushed blacks look. I am kind of new to Avid so not sure if is how the project is set up or if it is something in the rendering.

What settings did you use in Redcine-X Pro? It could be you used RedLogFilm, which would be appropriate for final color but not good for editing. Do some tests and watch the workflow videos (and read the manual):

http://www.red.com/learn/workflow
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer

Are you monitoring via SDI out of redcine using a proper output box? If not your just guessing, the viewer is not accurate enough
    JAKE WILGANOWSKI
    Director of Photography / Filmmaker
    CINE-AUTOMATIC.COM

Also, you should realize that Avid's source and record viewers *display* full range. For example for 8-bit video what you see as black in the viewer has to be 0 (not 16) and what you see as the brightest white has to be 235 (not 255). This has the effect of making footage look washed out in the viewers. But if you have an external monitor or use full screen playback, you can change the levels to video. And you might now be able to change the levels for the source and record viewers; I'm not sure, but can check next time in front of an Avid. (You can by right-clicking on the viewer and choosing Display Color Space.)