Thread: Internal Mics-- which cameras have them?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1 Internal Mics-- which cameras have them? 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    15
    I'm having a hard time finding definitive info on internal mics. Can anyone confirm the following for me?

    RED ONE - No
    RED Scarlet MX - No
    RED Scarlet Dragon - No
    RED Scarlet-W - Yes
    RED Epic MX - No
    RED Epic Dragon - No
    RED Epic-W - Yes
    RED Weapon Dragon - Yes
    RED Weapon Helium - Yes
    RED Raven - Yes

    Thank you!
    Zak
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    8,995
    All DSMC2 bodies have internal mics.
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    WPN-M #820
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Bob!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    627
    R1

    RED ONE M - No
    RED ONE MX - No

    DSMC 1

    RED Scarlet MX - No
    RED Scarlet Dragon - No
    RED Epic X MX - No
    RED Epic X Dragon - No
    RED Epic M MX - No
    RED Epic M Dragon - No
    RED Epic M Monochrome - No

    DSMC 2

    RED Raven - Yes
    RED Scarlet-W - Yes
    RED Scarlet-W Monochrome - Yes
    RED Epic-W - Yes
    RED Weapon Dragon 6K - Yes
    RED Weapon Helium 8K S35 - Yes
    RED Weapon Dragon 8K VV - Yes


    Exactly what Bob said. If it's DSMC 2, it's got mics built in.
    @ajt4k

    ajt4k.com

    REDucated June 2012

    Scarlet-X #2098
    Raven #61
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    5,519
    Call me crazy, but I think it's sad that people who spend between $7000 and $40,000 on a camera aren't willing to spend a few hundred dollars on a halfway decent microphone. You're not gonna get anything even close to a good mic using one built-in to a camera. I bet the mic on a GoPro is no worse.
    www.colorbymarc.com | colorist / post-production consultant
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Ilya O.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    156
    Call me crazy, but for 7-40K $ camera it is a MUST to have good quality built-in mic with hardware&software cam/fan noise reduction.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    5,519
    Quote Originally Posted by Ilya O. View Post
    Call me crazy, but for 7-40K $ camera it is a MUST to have good quality built-in mic with hardware&software cam/fan noise reduction.
    There's no such thing. You have to take the mic off the camera and put it near the actor.

    I can list a dozen high-end cameras that have no built-in mic, partly for this reason. As far as I know, no camera made by Arri has one (for example). It's almost as stupid to put the mic on the camera as it is to put a light on the camera... with few exceptions.

    I totally get that for news gathering or for shooting under war conditions, that'd be a case where a "B-roll" mic is understandable. Everything else... you're going to wind up with a cheap mic in a bad position with bad sound. You can ignore this basic fact of physics at your own peril.

    I have no problem with somebody slapping wireless mics on reporters and letting them record sound direct to camera -- that's done all the time in news and documentary situations. But a mic on the camera? Not optimum for a lot of reasons. A Sennheiser MKH416 (or even the shorter Sennheiser MKH-8060) in a shock mount could work to a point, but they cost roughly a grand. Very standard for news gathering, but not ideal for a camera with a big fan on it.
    www.colorbymarc.com | colorist / post-production consultant
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member scott pommier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    PDX/LAX/YYZ
    Posts
    131
    i don't use the built-in mic to record audio for the finished product, but it's very handy to have it as a scratch track/reference point when reviewing footage. it doesn't really matter on a full production where all audio and picture are lined up, slated and synced with timecode, but there are plenty of shoots/applications were i find it to be incredibly useful. it's one of my favorite upgrades to the DSMC2 line. now about that internal ND...
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts