Thread: The new MixPre Series by Sound Devices

Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38
  1. #31  
    Member Ty Maier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    61
    MixPre3 just came in! I'll post some notes on it after some usage.
    Attached Images
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #32  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    332
    Didn't realize they were actually shipping, I anxiously await your feedback.
    Raven 0730 "SHIRA"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #33  
    Member Ty Maier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    61
    I was able to test it for about 90min today. I was overall impressed by the unit.

    The preamps are incredible! Crazy low noise floor. I bumped the gain to clip the source a few times and the limiter kicked in. I was very pleased by it's response! It had a very high quality response for the situation.

    Great build quality. All the knobs feel good! Very bright screen and the knobs light differently depending on input level. Interface was quick and intuitive.

    Only negative was I felt the battery compartment was too easy to detach. It would probably never come off but I wish I had to fight it a little harder to make it detach.

    Thanks,
    Ty Maier
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #34  
    Senior Member Mark Phelan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,480
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Sherrick View Post
    I would love to see a Sound Devices RED module. It would have exceptional mic pre, rock solid timecode, integrated SD card recorder, and even SDI/HDMI outputs. I've always wanted these two companies to work together to make something awesome like that.
    Amen. You know I've been saying this for years.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #35  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    200
    I'm interested in having the mixpre3 attached to the camera for doc shoots and be used as a preamp at times. Is it possible to power this unit with an Arri 2pin lemo or D-Tap?
    www.rogersingh.com
    cinematographer producer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #36  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Singh View Post
    I'm interested in having the mixpre3 attached to the camera for doc shoots and be used as a preamp at times. Is it possible to power this unit with an Arri 2pin lemo or D-Tap?
    There is no direct DC-in besides the USB power input. It's either 4AA, 8AA, or L mount. I have confirmed they do not have plans for Canon LP-E6 battery plate on their roadmap.

    You can go D tap to L mount. It would not be a locking connection, but someone is working on a MixPre battery plate with a Hirose in. That will be killer when it comes out.
    @ajt4k

    ajt4k.com

    REDucated June 2012

    Scarlet-X #2098
    Raven #61
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #37  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by Ty Maier View Post
    I was able to test it for about 90min today. I was overall impressed by the unit.

    The preamps are incredible! Crazy low noise floor. I bumped the gain to clip the source a few times and the limiter kicked in. I was very pleased by it's response! It had a very high quality response for the situation.

    Great build quality. All the knobs feel good! Very bright screen and the knobs light differently depending on input level. Interface was quick and intuitive.

    Only negative was I felt the battery compartment was too easy to detach. It would probably never come off but I wish I had to fight it a little harder to make it detach.

    Thanks,
    Ty Maier
    Hi Ty - or anyone else that has tried the Mix Pre 3
    Have you tried going out from the 3.5mm out on the Mix pre 3 into the 3.5mm in on the I/O module on a DSMC2 camera?
    If so does that sound OK?
    I know that you can record internally on the Mix Pre 3 but I have a client that likes to have the audio embedded with the video.
    Even if I offer him matching time coded video and audio files - he would prefer not to match them up.
    I am thinking there Sound Devices Mix Pre 3 may be a good option as it is seems considerably lighter than the Zoom 4.
    Or do people think the 3.5mm connection will not be up to the job?
    Thanks for your thoughts
    cheers Richard
    www.cinestill.com
    Raven, 6x Zeiss CP.2, 3x Nikon zooms, Sachtler tripod, Sprinter Van with lighting kit for hire.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #38  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    445
    Does the MixPre3/6 have the ability to name individual tracks? What fine level control does it have over file naming & folder structure? Can notes be added to the metadata both before and after a recording?
    http://IronFilm.co.nz (based in Auckland, NZ)
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts