Thread: Epic Helium ProRes crop question

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1 Epic Helium ProRes crop question 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    17
    Hi There

    I'm about to upgrade my Epic MX to the Epic W Helium.

    For some of my jobs 8k RAW will be overkill so i wondered what the deal is with the prores recording.

    Can i record prores only ? or must i record with RAW?

    Also is the 4k Prores 422HQ the full sensor size or a crop. (Would love it if this was 4444XQ)

    Also is the 2K prores 4444XQ the full sensor or a crop?

    And finally is the 2k 4444XQ up to 120FPS a crop or the full sensor.

    Thanks in advance for your help

    Cheers

    Olli
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Jaimy Soares's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    290
    Yes you can record only prores, or raw and prores.

    Al the prores is a full downsample of the entire sensor.

    But if you want to shoot highspeed you need to go down to 6K and so you get a 6K crop and then the camera downsamples to 4 or 2K prores.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaimy Soares View Post
    Yes you can record only prores, or raw and prores.

    Al the prores is a full downsample of the entire sensor.

    But if you want to shoot highspeed you need to go down to 6K and so you get a 6K crop and then the camera downsamples to 4 or 2K prores.
    Excellent thank you! i think i'm going to pull the trigger and press buy today. 120 fps 2k Prores at 6k crop is ok for me
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Fabricio Morato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Florianópolis, SC - Brazil
    Posts
    315
    You can record Raw+ProRes/DNxHD-HR or only the prores/dnxhd. If you are with the new log3g10 and RWG, the proxys will have this "baked" in. Even if you are viewing with the IPP2 preview luts, the proxys wont get them baked in.

    Your FOV with prores/dnx will be the same as the raw resolution you are using.

    So if you are in 8k FF, you get the full sensor. If you change to 5k WS, your FOV with prores will be the same as this resolution.

    Prores FPS are also dependent on your resolution. Epic-W won't do high speed over 6k (it actually does a little bit in the WS modes of 6.5k, 7k, 7.5k and 8k, but only 6k you get good FPS). So if you are in 8k mode, but recording only 2k prores, you are limited to the 30fps of this mode. To get 120fps you need to lower to 5k ws or 4k FF.

    Hope this helps
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Fabricio Morato View Post
    You can record Raw+ProRes/DNxHD-HR or only the prores/dnxhd. If you are with the new log3g10 and RWG, the proxys will have this "baked" in. Even if you are viewing with the IPP2 preview luts, the proxys wont get them baked in.

    Your FOV with prores/dnx will be the same as the raw resolution you are using.

    So if you are in 8k FF, you get the full sensor. If you change to 5k WS, your FOV with prores will be the same as this resolution.

    Prores FPS are also dependent on your resolution. Epic-W won't do high speed over 6k (it actually does a little bit in the WS modes of 6.5k, 7k, 7.5k and 8k, but only 6k you get good FPS). So if you are in 8k mode, but recording only 2k prores, you are limited to the 30fps of this mode. To get 120fps you need to lower to 5k ws or 4k FF.

    Hope this helps
    Thanks Fabricio helps a lot !
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Patrick Tresch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Switzerland, Lausanne
    Posts
    4,996
    The prores / Dnxhr frames are alsways made from the bigger sensor crop you see and not what you aim to. This means that if you shoot 1.90 with a look around, your prores will have the lookaround size.

    Pat

    PS: the debayer is not Full but Half Premium I believe.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Tresch View Post
    The prores / Dnxhr frames are alsways made from the bigger sensor crop you see and not what you aim to. This means that if you shoot 1.90 with a look around, your prores will have the lookaround size.

    Pat

    PS: the debayer is not Full but Half Premium I believe.
    Thanks Pat
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Aaron Lochert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliver collins View Post
    Excellent thank you! i think i'm going to pull the trigger and press buy today. 120 fps 2k Prores at 6k crop is ok for me
    You can't do 120 fps with a 6K window. The most you can do in 6K is 80 fps.

    8k - 30
    8k ws - 38
    7k - 34
    7k ws - 43
    6k - 80
    6k ws - 100
    5k - 96
    5k ws - 120
    4k - 120
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron Lochert View Post
    You can't do 120 fps with a 6K window. The most you can do in 6K is 80 fps.

    8k - 30
    8k ws - 38
    7k - 34
    7k ws - 43
    6k - 80
    6k ws - 100
    5k - 96
    5k ws - 120
    4k - 120

    Ok got it, Thank You
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts