Thread: Recording audio directly into a RED DSMC2 camera

Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 51 to 56 of 56
  1. #51  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,875
    Quote Originally Posted by Robb Fischer View Post
    Greetings. I have been reading through this thread. I know very little about audio tech, but currently have a project where I need to record directly into my RED Gemini. When I have tried this in the past using an A Box, and setting levels in the camera menu, the results have always been weak, with the audio very low. I was using a Sennheiser shotgun mic. I am looking for a simple set-up to let me record with a boom mic in the field as a one man operation. THANKS
    Just get a Mix Pre 3. It's tiny, and way better pre-amps than any camera. Dual System is always better/safer, especially if you are doing sound yourself.
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #52  
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Nick! What cables/mounts would I need to attach to my Gemini. Currently I only have a Wooden Camera Top Plate.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #53  
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    France
    Posts
    92
    As Robb i’am wondering how to connect and configure the MixPre to the dsmc2.
    Is there a nice guy to explain us? would be very appreciable.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #54  
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    364
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Pilato View Post
    As Robb i’am wondering how to connect and configure the MixPre to the dsmc2.
    Is there a nice guy to explain us? would be very appreciable.
    My post http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...D-DSMC2-camera explains the cables required for a Mix Pre-D.

    To connect a Mix Pre 3 to the DSMC2 V-LOCK I/O EXPANDER, use a 1/8th" stereo cable https://www.trewaudio.com/product/beachtek-sc35/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #55  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick Morrison View Post
    Just get a Mix Pre 3. It's tiny, and way better pre-amps than any camera. Dual System is always better/safer, especially if you are doing sound yourself.
    I agree, just get 2x Ultrasync ONEs

    Set one of them as the RF Master, hook that one to the output from the camera to accept its TC output.

    This then broadcasts the TC to the 2nd USO, which is a RF Slave on the same RF :Blink network. Set your TC recorder to be external jammed, which will then then record/stop at the same point in times as the camera is.

    Easy. Simple. Effective.
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #56  
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Blair, do you use the Ultrasync ONEs as recommended by David Peterson below to sync timecode?
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts