Thread: How to reconnect in camera prores to R3D in Fcpx

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1 How to reconnect in camera prores to R3D in Fcpx 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    629
    Default Today, 05:35 PM
    I shot a feature film in 6K ws 50fps project speed, R3D and prores LT in camera Epic-W.
    So we did the offline in fcpx and want to reconnect the proress files to the R3D files for online edit!
    How can we do this? Do we have to go to another edit program like premiere pro?
    Help needed!! Asap! Thx.

    Best Robert
    Robert M. Berger NSC
    Director of Photography
    Red DMSC2 8K S35 HELIUM "ED" 002254
    www.camlight.nl
    NEW Fiction showreel https://vimeo.com/205519787
    Showreel https://vimeo.com/97829046
    https://www.instagram.com/robert_m_berger_nsc/
    Amsterdam
    The Netherlands
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    212
    I'm not sure how to do it in FCPX, but you can Export an XML (first dublicate the timeline, and delete any effects added, so it's only the clips)
    Open Davincin Resolve, and Import the Original R3D's in the Media Pool,
    Then import the XML, it should automatically reconnect to the Raw footage (do not import the Prores in the Media Pool)
    Then export an XML, and import it back in FCPX, and copy and paste the effects if needed.

    You can also do the same in RedCine-X,
    Go to File > Import
    Then a window will pop up, on top is the Original R3D Directories, Click on + Button, and choose where the R3D Files are,
    then choose Import, it should reconnect all the files to the R3D files.
    Then Export (Shallow) > XML, and Import it back to FCPX.

    Good luck
    Epic-W Helium #1102
    E̷P̷I̷C̷ D̷r̷a̷g̷o̷n̷ #̷0̷4̷5̷8̷2̷
    Nawafalsabhan.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    42
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    629
    Thank you friends! The problem is that we used the prores files made in camera and there are cut in multiple pieces, so 1 R3D is been cut to multy prores files with differentnumbers at the end of a prores file... They offline edit it with these proress files and coould not relink them because the numbers at the end don't match with the R3D files. We need asap a released update that the prores files aren't cut anymore like in the beta software where you can go for UDF Prores. We could because of insurance not shoot this film on beta sftware��
    Robert M. Berger NSC
    Director of Photography
    Red DMSC2 8K S35 HELIUM "ED" 002254
    www.camlight.nl
    NEW Fiction showreel https://vimeo.com/205519787
    Showreel https://vimeo.com/97829046
    https://www.instagram.com/robert_m_berger_nsc/
    Amsterdam
    The Netherlands
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    629
    Edit could find a way 2 fix the problems! Can't wait for the released firmware upgrade with UDF prores files.....candidate is out now!
    Robert M. Berger NSC
    Director of Photography
    Red DMSC2 8K S35 HELIUM "ED" 002254
    www.camlight.nl
    NEW Fiction showreel https://vimeo.com/205519787
    Showreel https://vimeo.com/97829046
    https://www.instagram.com/robert_m_berger_nsc/
    Amsterdam
    The Netherlands
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    629
    Thank you David!
    Robert M. Berger NSC
    Director of Photography
    Red DMSC2 8K S35 HELIUM "ED" 002254
    www.camlight.nl
    NEW Fiction showreel https://vimeo.com/205519787
    Showreel https://vimeo.com/97829046
    https://www.instagram.com/robert_m_berger_nsc/
    Amsterdam
    The Netherlands
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    629
    Thank you Nawaf!
    Robert M. Berger NSC
    Director of Photography
    Red DMSC2 8K S35 HELIUM "ED" 002254
    www.camlight.nl
    NEW Fiction showreel https://vimeo.com/205519787
    Showreel https://vimeo.com/97829046
    https://www.instagram.com/robert_m_berger_nsc/
    Amsterdam
    The Netherlands
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Berger View Post
    Thank you Nawaf!
    Your welcome, I usually convert the R3D to Prores for offline edit before editing, so it's only 1 file prores per R3D file,

    I also believe this software "Fool Clip" joins the prores files to 1 file each as shot.
    http://mikasky.free.fr/foolcolor//foolstuff.html

    foolclip lets you automatically join PRORES files from FAT32 REDMags into a single clip with identical name, timecode and audio/video content. You can create either a reference foolclip in the same folder as your clip segments (small size and fast but requires the original files and some long clips with audio may not import into Premiere due to a known issue with apps not using AVFoundation framework) or create a new stand alone / self contained PRORES clip for each of your clips.
    Epic-W Helium #1102
    E̷P̷I̷C̷ D̷r̷a̷g̷o̷n̷ #̷0̷4̷5̷8̷2̷
    Nawafalsabhan.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Tel Aviv/London
    Posts
    237
    Following the same question as the OP and didn't want to start another thread, but I'm using the UDF formatting, So I have no issue with split files.
    What is the best workflow to import into FCPX? I shot r3D+prores 2K, and each folder has both matched files, what's the best way to import?

    Should I take out all the prores files from the folders and do a separate folder for them? should I just import all and then on the timeline make sure I'm using the prores version for offline editing? and how do I relink if I do that?

    Does RED have any guide on this?

    Thanks!
    Oron Cohen
    Scarlet-W
    www.oroncohen.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    835
    Quote Originally Posted by Oron Cohen View Post
    Following the same question as the OP and didn't want to start another thread, but I'm using the UDF formatting, So I have no issue with split files.
    What is the best workflow to import into FCPX? I shot r3D+prores 2K, and each folder has both matched files, what's the best way to import?

    Should I take out all the prores files from the folders and do a separate folder for them? should I just import all and then on the timeline make sure I'm using the prores version for offline editing? and how do I relink if I do that?

    Does RED have any guide on this?

    Thanks!
    Even easier (as I learned from reduser):

    1.) Create a new folder on your drive or desktop, naming it something like "_____ ProRes"
    2.) Search the folder or drive where all of the footage you want to edit is for files ending in /containing .mov
    3.) Select all of those files once they list out
    4.) Drag said files into the "_____ ProRes"
    5.) Breathe a sigh of relief.

    When you want to reconnect them later to your R3Ds, just direct the reconnect to the original folders and you'll be set :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts