Thread: Daft question about posting images

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Daft question about posting images 
    I have full sized images externally hosted. And i can add them using the [IMG] code, but they come through as full resolution in the post. When i see other threads with externally hosted images i see those are scaled the the post width and if you click and open the original image then you see the full res version.

    How are these images being added?

    cheers
    Paul
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Aaron Lochert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,140
    Quote Originally Posted by paulcurtis View Post
    I have full sized images externally hosted. And i can add them using the [IMG] code, but they come through as full resolution in the post. When i see other threads with externally hosted images i see those are scaled the the post width and if you click and open the original image then you see the full res version.

    How are these images being added?

    cheers
    Paul
    Some hosting websites will provide a link for you, but you can do it manually yourself. You create the smaller thumbnail and host that. Then you link that here with the [img] tags. But then surround that whole [img] code in a [url] code that links to the full resolution image.

    IMG codes look like this:
    Code:
    [img]linkhere.jpg[/img]
    URL codes look like this (remove the space, though):
    Code:
    [url=linkhere.url]texthere[/ url]
    So take that URL code, and replace "text here" with the your [img] code to the thumbnail, and replace linkhere.url with the direct link to the large image.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Thanks Aaron,

    Looking at the source of posts from Phil and many others i see the actual images being used are originally larger than 694 width of the forum but being displayed at 694. So if you right click the image and open in a new tab (there is no link on those images) then you see the original. So i have some 4K images that i was trying to embed but when i did that they previewed as 4K.

    BBCode allows for [IMG width="" but that doesn't work here.

    So yeah, i can see the img and link approach working but was hoping to make life easier for me.

    So just seeing if i was missing something...

    Maybe not

    cheers
    Paul
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,210
    Images can preview at a different size than they appear when actually posted. Not sure if that's what's happening in your case, just thought I'd mention it. Maybe do a test posting here to check, you can always delete it.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6,643
    paul,

    on "flickr", which I use, which is slow as F..K to upload sometimes.


    after you upload your image, by clicking on the cloud with the "up" arrow in it



    [IMG]Screenshot (47) by rand thompson, on Flickr[/IMG]




    just click on the "Share Photo" arrow pointing to the right.



    [IMG]Screenshot (41) by rand thompson, on Flickr[/IMG]





    and it gives you a menu with a dropdown for you to choose what resolution you what to create a BBcode code for. Copy that


    [IMG]Screenshot (39) by rand thompson, on Flickr[/IMG]


    use the "insert image" icon, to the left of film strip icon on reduser

    [IMG]Screenshot (46) by rand thompson, on Flickr[/IMG]


    after you press the "insert image" icon, you get this

    [IMG]Screenshot (42) by rand thompson, on Flickr[/IMG]


    paste the link you copied from flickr into the "URL" area and press "OK"

    [IMG]Screenshot (43) by rand thompson, on Flickr[/IMG]
    Last edited by rand thompson; 11-21-2017 at 05:31 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Matt Hall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    322
    Not too long ago I had this exact question but didn’t ask because I felt like I had been here too long not to know. Thanks for the insight.

    RED Scarlet-W 5K Dragon "Genesis"

    GOKER & BIT PRODUCTIONS


    www.youtube.com/c/everythingmedieval
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    So after more digging around.

    When the image is displayed in the thread there is an extra CSS rule that forces the images to 100% width. This style rule isn't in the preview. So actually if you upload a larger image then the forum will scale the large image down which is why i can see larger width images in normal forum posts.

    However i ended up doing 2K images inline and then linking to 4K.

    The flickr thing is cool, dynamic resizing of images but then you can't right click and open the image in a new tab to see it scaled normally.

    There are also hosting services like cloudinary that allow for scaling and transforms by changing the URL. Overkill for this though

    Thanks to everyone who replied. Hopefully this has helped more than just me!

    cheers
    Paul
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks , as i have also looking for this
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Brian Pascale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Silver Spring, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    Bumping this thread as I finally figured out how to successfully post high-quality photos on reduser. Thanks Rand Thompson!
    Epic W
    Brian Pascale
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6,643
    You're welcome Brian! I hadn't seen this thread in a while.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts