Thread: Need audio advice.

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Need audio advice. 
    I am a little new to Red but I am coming from a DSLR background. I have Sennheiser wireless Lav Ew100 system and when I plug in the receiver to the Red Epic w microphone jack input, I don't seem to get great sound out of it.

What are your recommendations on what I should do if I want to use the wireless Lavs? Any thoughts or direction much appreciated for this newbie.
    Red Monstro 8K VV | Red Gemini 5K | Kippertie Revolva

Most likely, the line-level output of the Sennheiser is overloading the mike preamp. Either get a physical -30dB pad to knock it down (like the pads made by Shure), or find a way to turn the receiver output way, way down.

I routinely fed a Lectro SRb into Red cameras when I was doing sound, and this receiver would allow dropping the line output down to essentially mic level. Sounded absolutely fine, but I did have to turn it almost completely down.
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wielage View Post
    Most likely, the line-level output of the Sennheiser is overloading the mike preamp. Either get a physical -30dB pad to knock it down (like the pads made by Shure), or find a way to turn the receiver output way, way down.

I routinely fed a Lectro SRb into Red cameras when I was doing sound, and this receiver would allow dropping the line output down to essentially mic level. Sounded absolutely fine, but I did have to turn it almost completely down.

I think my transmitter is at -30dB and my receiver is at -18dB. My problem is the sound is low on the video recording. I have the mic level on the Red almost all the way up. So what you are saying is lowering the output on the receiver going into the red? Mine is a DSMC2 which I hear have this issue?