Thread: FCPX 10.4, Stabilization No Longer Works on 8K

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1 FCPX 10.4, Stabilization No Longer Works on 8K 
    Senior Member Scot Yount's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Marblehead, Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,359
    Wondering if anyone else is having this problem. I have Helium 8K HD source files. I am editing on the new FCPX 10.4. I edit in a 1080p timeline. I shoot some handheld stuff over cranked and usually use stabilization in the inspector to take out the bumps. Has always worked well, even on 8K source. Now, it no longer works. It takes an hour to analyze a 6 second clip, and once it is done, the clip remains unchanged. However, other .r3d material works fine. I have in the same timeline some 4k HD source material from an old Scarlet MX. Works fine. XDCAM works fine. Blazes. I am on High Sierra (I know, I know) and a 12 core Late 2013 MacPro with the D700 cards. Anyone have any ideas?
    Forged CF Helium 8K 00107
    Scarlet X 02249 (The Gateway Drug)
    Fujinon Cabrio 19-90 Version 2
    RED Pro Zooms and Primes
    Director/DP at https://www.butcherbox.com

    Living life by the ocean.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    A few people have posted this week about performance issues after updating to the latest High Sierra 10.13.2
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Scot Yount's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Marblehead, Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,359
    Yes. I have some issues that some others have. Like H.264 export. Painful. But I had not seen anything about anything simply not working.
    Forged CF Helium 8K 00107
    Scarlet X 02249 (The Gateway Drug)
    Fujinon Cabrio 19-90 Version 2
    RED Pro Zooms and Primes
    Director/DP at https://www.butcherbox.com

    Living life by the ocean.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Macau
    Posts
    2,301
    Yes, not working for me. Weapon Helium 8K footage. Cant stabilize.
    Sérgio Perez

    Weapon Helium "Zariel" in Macau

    Video Director/Creative/Producer


    http://vimeo.com/user1503556

    https://www.youtube.com/user/spzprod..._as=subscriber
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    590
    Apple really takes the Pro users serious... It's a big plus to get the hardware, the operating system and the software from one vendor... Well, you still have the design statement.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    203
    Out of curiosity I tried and was able to stabilize 8k Helium footage with FCP 10.4. I am running High Sierra beta 10.13.3, not sure if that is the difference? 10:1 compression 23.98 8kHD R3D format used. I have a 2013 macpro with 64GB ram, D500 cards 6 core model.
    EPIC-W 1402
    EPIC-W 6423
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Scot Yount's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Marblehead, Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,359
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Dishler View Post
    Out of curiosity I tried and was able to stabilize 8k Helium footage with FCP 10.4. I am running High Sierra beta 10.13.3, not sure if that is the difference? 10:1 compression 23.98 8kHD R3D format used. I have a 2013 macpro with 64GB ram, D500 cards 6 core model.
    Interesting to note. Was the analysis super slow, as in glacial?
    Forged CF Helium 8K 00107
    Scarlet X 02249 (The Gateway Drug)
    Fujinon Cabrio 19-90 Version 2
    RED Pro Zooms and Primes
    Director/DP at https://www.butcherbox.com

    Living life by the ocean.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    203
    Well, looking at it again, I left out perhaps the most important part. I first stabilized it in Proxy mode which was created during import, then switched to optimized/original in FCP as I usually do. When I tried to stabilize directly in original, my experience matched yours and it did not work. Yes, it was kind of slow but not glacial.
    EPIC-W 1402
    EPIC-W 6423
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Macau
    Posts
    2,301
    I havent updated my OS, so I dont think is an OS issue.
    Sérgio Perez

    Weapon Helium "Zariel" in Macau

    Video Director/Creative/Producer


    http://vimeo.com/user1503556

    https://www.youtube.com/user/spzprod..._as=subscriber
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    203
    Another option is to change the project to 4k, then you can stabilize the optimized media directly. I don't think FCP fully supports above 6k. This I believe is why the image can be stabilized with either the smaller proxy, or with a 4k representation in the project.

    Another issue is that when R3D's are imported into FCP 10.4 the metadata is changed from WideGamutRGB/Log3G10 to the gamma BT.1886 and in order to get close to the look of the same clip on RedCine-X one needs to change the gamma back to log and then input the correct LUT such as the Log to Rec709 medium contrast/medium size in FCP in the Camera LUT input field. Interestingly, if there was a custom LUT applied such as PhilmColor it does transfer through to the footage. This is by clip, so if you import only the R3D's it can be avoided, otherwise there is no way to get rid of the creative LUT in FCP, but can be added per clip within FCP after import. Even with doing this correctly, it is not an exact match to the RedCine-X version. I have opened a ticket with Red support and they have acknowledged there is an issue with the implementation.
    EPIC-W 1402
    EPIC-W 6423
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts