Thread: 32TB Drive Suggestions

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1 32TB Drive Suggestions 
    Member Ty Maier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    94
    Hey guys,

    I知 gonna need to invest in a 32TB raid in the next two weeks. I知 on a 5,1 Mac Pro. Can I drop four 8TB drives in it reliably? I値l probably use it at least another year. Which is about how long I値l need this drive. I知 guessing my best bet is some sort of USB 3.1 System otherwise. Could spend up to $3k but would love to keep it at $2k. Reliability is priority over money. Also open to something that is more expandable.

    Thanks,
    Ty Maier
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Not sure if there is anything that big for even $3k... Are you wanting an active usable 32TB? Because then you'd likely need more like 50TB of media, which quality reliable media by itself will probably cost $2-3k without any sort of server to stick it in
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    147
    I've had good success with the Akitio Thunder2 Quad, which costs under $350 on B&H. Not sure if there's a way to get thunderbolt on a 5.1 Mac Pro. You could put 4 8TB Hard drives in the Thunder2 Quad in RAID-1. HGST 8TB drives are $250 each on B&H.

    So could get 2 of these systems for around $1350 each. Total of $2700.

    Not bad for 64TB of media.

    If you just want RAID 0, of course you can spend half the money. Though of course you'll want 3 copies of your files on different drives regardless, with 1 being geographically diverse (Different building ideally.) to the others.

    Just checked and there is also a Thunder3 Quad available now at a similar price, in case that better suits the ports you'd like to be using.


    PS. Read some reports of slow performance using RAID-1 due to the lack of a hardware RAID controller. So may not be suitable for this purpose. I've only used this unit in RAID-0 personally, where it performs as one would expect!
    Last edited by Mohammed Almedfa; 01-14-2018 at 12:44 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    147
    10TB Hard drives of the same model also seem to now be available at a similar $/GB to the 8TB, so even higher density could be achieved!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Member Ty Maier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    94
    32TB should be fine. I’m looking for 24-26TB of useable space.

    I do not believe there is any way of including thunderbolt on a 5,1 Mac Pro. I know it’s getting time to upgrade the machine. I feel like it’s gonna be pretty expensive to match the 12 cores I’ve got rocking right now.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Blair Thornton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    224
    Try using 10Tb Enterprise level drives like these https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-941-_-Product to increase reliability.

    Case: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...4_bay_usb.html

    BTW, there never will be a way to get Thunderbolt on a MacPro 5,1.
    Last edited by Blair Thornton; 01-14-2018 at 10:41 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    I bought a Promise Pegasus2 r6 for $700 on eBay (had 6 2TB drives in it that I could probably sell). Then I bought 6x 8TB Deskstar NAS drives for a little under $1,500 form B&H. The combo works really well. Good luck!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    You could put 8gb drives in the four drive bays and then software raid them. Then pull your CD and put in a 500gb SSD for the OS and apps.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    5,902
    Quote Originally Posted by Blair Thornton View Post
    BTW, there never will be a way to get Thunderbolt on a MacPro 5,1.
    Yeah, Apple really screwed users on that by making it impossible to just use a PCI Thunderbolt card in the cheesegrater Macs. There's a lot of "planned obsolescence" in Apple's history, more so than in quite a few technology companies.

    I'm honestly not sure if a USB 3.1 card would work in a 5,1 Mac, but it's a good question. @Jake Blackstone would probably know.
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member DJ Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    592
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wielage View Post
    Yeah, Apple really screwed users on that by making it impossible to just use a PCI Thunderbolt card in the cheesegrater Macs. There's a lot of "planned obsolescence" in Apple's history, more so than in quite a few technology companies.

    I'm honestly not sure if a USB 3.1 card would work in a 5,1 Mac, but it's a good question. @Jake Blackstone would probably know.
    Thunderbolt didn’t exist when the 5,1 Mac was released, and requires a GPIO header that was not put on that board.

    USB 3 and 3.1 cards will work. Just not thunderbolt.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts