Thread: RRX with enclosure or new iMac Pro?

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11  
    Quote Originally Posted by Misha Engel View Post
    Ehhhh... modular upgrades on Apple products, really...
    I'm sorry, I misread the earlier post. I thought Mike was talking about the benefits that come with NOT using Apple products. I stand corrected.
    Michael Tiemann, Chapel Hill NC

    "Dream so big you can share!"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
    Posts
    1,118
    Quote Originally Posted by Misha Engel View Post
    And what are those benefits?
    Build quality, support, being an actual Mac computer there's generally no tweaking necessary to get things working, more refinement, better resale value when you decide to sell/upgrade. That's pretty much about it. If you're technically savvy, build a Hackintosh. You'll definitely get more bang for your buck up front.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    18
    In a similar boat here. I have a RRX connected via TB2 to a maxed out 2013 Apple nmp, but Helium transcoding and playback is killing in me in RCX, Adobe Pr & Ae- (Dragon 6K was so much faster). We recently lost our in-house post team and I'm one-man-banding it, so now it's not just a tech bottleneck but a staffing one as well. I'm trying to find a way to speed up the workflow while sticking with R3D's, without having to crop the sensor or switch to Prores... Thinking the new iMac with a TB3 connection to the existing RRX is the best bet.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member DJ Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Fredericks View Post
    In a similar boat here. I have a RRX connected via TB2 to a maxed out 2013 Apple nmp, but Helium transcoding and playback is killing in me in RCX, Adobe Pr & Ae- (Dragon 6K was so much faster). We recently lost our in-house post team and I'm one-man-banding it, so now it's not just a tech bottleneck but a staffing one as well. I'm trying to find a way to speed up the workflow while sticking with R3D's, without having to crop the sensor or switch to Prores... Thinking the new iMac with a TB3 connection to the existing RRX is the best bet.
    I've got a 10-core iMac Pro, Vega 64, and RR-X connected over TB3. It will play back 8k in realtime in RCX while using about 30% of CPU, but just barely keeps up with the playhead.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    732
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Meyer View Post
    I've got a 10-core iMac Pro, Vega 64, and RR-X connected over TB3. It will play back 8k in realtime in RCX while using about 30% of CPU, but just barely keeps up with the playhead.
    Not bad for $14.000 worth of computer equipment.

    Apple did great forcing ProRes as the defacto standard (in north america), hats of for that.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Meyer View Post
    I've got a 10-core iMac Pro, Vega 64, and RR-X connected over TB3. It will play back 8k in realtime in RCX while using about 30% of CPU, but just barely keeps up with the playhead.
    The 10-core will do all that.. nice to know. Figure the 14 & 18 cores will be faster- or not because of the slower clock speed?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member DJ Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Fredericks View Post
    The 10-core will do all that.. nice to know. Figure the 14 & 18 cores will be faster- or not because of the slower clock speed?
    The RR-X takes a lot of the load off the CPU, so with that attached then the 14/18 will not be any faster than the 10 or even the 8. Without the RR-X, then yes the 14/18 would likely be faster for playback.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts