Thread: EPIC-W- LCD Screen goes BLACK after hitting playback

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1 EPIC-W- LCD Screen goes BLACK after hitting playback 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Costa Mesa, CA
    Posts
    144
    The moment i hit playback to look at a clip. My epic-w crashes hard. My screen goes black with nothing. Nothing ever comes back up. All my footage is their. Just really frustrating when i can't playback my footage. Seeing if anyone else has run into the same issue.

    i have the 4.5in dsmc2 lcd with a 7in SmallHD monitor for my shoulder rig.

    7.0.2 firmware.
    Last edited by Rich Miro; 06-11-2018 at 11:46 PM.
    ---------
    EPIC-W
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    170
    I run into the same issue with my Scarlet-w and the DSMC2 Touch LCD. When i hit playback, or magnify the screen goes black.
    The Bomb evf is still working.
    the touchscreen itself is also still working, because i can switch back to record using the screen.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    9,561
    There is a 7.0.3 firmware.
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    Instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Josh Becker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    802
    Have you tried formatting the mag or using a different mag?

    I had an issue once with a mag causing my camera to lock up when switching into playback mode, I didn't realize it until after the shoot. Apparently we didn't go into playback mode at all during the shoot and the client just grabbed the files off my card at the end of the day. Next day, he tells me none of the files open (only rolled 4K ProRes), all corrupted. I still had the original mag and threw it into the camera, locked up every time I put it into playback mode. Luckily I was able to save the clips with some software. Ended up doing a secure format of the mag and everything has been fine since.
    ---
    Epic-W #001633
    www.joshbecker.net
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    170
    I now encounter the same problem. When set to 30HZ the monitor doesn'T display anything on playback or magnify. on 50HZ 60Hz it works, but has strange lines.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts