Thread: External recorder with long record time

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    874
    Ah right, fair enough! That is true.
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    352
    AFAIK, it is not currently possible without Red's help.

    The Red cameras are built with modern computer tech; you don't reinvent the wheel when you don't have to. The OS is most likely a bespoke version of Linux with everything unneeded pulled out of the kernel. They record through a SATA port to a fast SSD drive, there is no magic there. There is most likely specific formatting templates for each drive config that they have manufactured.

    To do what the O.P. wants to do you would need a device that presents itself to the computer (Camera's OS) as a very fast SATA drive, and Red would have to rewrite their storage code to allow for this device to be properly utilized. Red could also install and activate Linux server software that could make the SSD available via the Ethernet port, and a second computer could copy out the files and delete them while the camera was recording thus constantly creating room, but you would run into performance issues I'm sure.

    Finally, it might be that Red has already done this, or might want to do it in the near future. Gemini was created for NASA, right? NASA will most likely have similar requirements as the O.P.. It *might* be that Red already has a firmware build that is not commercially available. Of course, this is all conjecture...

    Bob
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    24
    Isn't Bob's suggestion of tethering over Gig-E the solution here?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Gundu View Post
    Otherwise GigE port connection to a computer to record may be another option.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    454
    Jarred posted a picture of a camera they made with 10GigE output. This is what you'd need.

    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1,085
    What signal is going over the 10 G output?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    You can record r3d over 10Ge from dsmc1 to redcinexpro and also via some of the i/o modules on dsmc2 if im not mistaken. But not sure of the actuall max bit rate it was somwhat limited compared to the ssd’s if i remember correctly.

    Strange that red has not created some sort of raid mag holding multiple ssd,s or even sata cable to storage.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se
    Flame - 3D - Milo MoCo
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,408
    Wouldn't surprise me if the new production module has 10GigE
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts