Thread: Red one mount same as mx?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1 Red one mount same as mx? 
    So I saw a add for a EF mount for the Red One to replace the PL mount. It also says not comparable with a Red One MX, is this the case? are the mounts on both cameras different? I had assumed the only real difference was the sensor? Or could it be because the MX sensor is physically larger?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Ryan Purcell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    118
    The original RED One is a different beast altogether. New smaller body style with EPIC.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Member Ramasses H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    67
    I had a RED ONE MX, I'm pretty sure its the exact same physical body as the original RED ONE. You should post a link to the item.
    RED Raven V-Lock Base I/O. Former RED ONE MX BT Owner http://www.imdb.me/ramasseshead
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    31
    If it is this EF mount you mean: https://www.rafcamera.com/canon-eos-mount-for-red-one so, as you said, it says not compatible with MX and I don´t know why. The physical body of MX is exact same as the original but I guess the sensor of MX is not at same distance as the original.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Member Ramasses H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    67
    You can try to find a used Birger EF Mount. That's what my RED ONE MX had. It worked very well and it had aperture control.
    Last edited by Ramasses H; 01-27-2019 at 09:41 PM. Reason: typo
    RED Raven V-Lock Base I/O. Former RED ONE MX BT Owner http://www.imdb.me/ramasseshead
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Two things changed with the MX sensor — The OLPF was seated at a different depth, which makes no difference. The MX sensor was larger and some mounts designed early on for the Mysterium sensor can actually have some optical obstruction of the outer edges of the MX sensor, this could by why it’s “not compatible.”

    I second the recommendation for the Birger mount. They’re a bit tricky to find at this point as production stopped prematurely when Birger and RED had a dispute over intellectual property and Birger changing their design for production when RED approved a different design. Small things can sometimes cause big issues — if the mount were a dumb mount it would have been a non-issue, but it had to do with the how the mount attached to the I/O cable so it could provide electronic aperture control.
    - Jeff Kilgroe
    - Applied Visual Technologies, LLC | RojoMojo
    - Just me and my 8K Monstro VV kicking ass.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Member Ramasses H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    67
    I found a Birger Mount with a wireless Imperio controller for sale on eBay, I didn't have that controller when I had my RED ONE but I sure wished I did. It's not cheap at $1479 but honestly it's worth the money.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Red-One-MX-...6wjG:rk:1:pf:0
    RED Raven V-Lock Base I/O. Former RED ONE MX BT Owner http://www.imdb.me/ramasseshead
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    REDuser Sponsor Erik Widding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    630
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramasses H View Post
    I found a Birger Mount with a wireless Imperio controller for sale on eBay, I didn't have that controller when I had my RED ONE but I sure wished I did. It's not cheap at $1479 but honestly it's worth the money.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Red-One-MX-...6wjG:rk:1:pf:0
    Look very carefully at the picture... you do not want to buy this unit, one of the lens pins is broken. I did message the seller on eBay, and he responded "it is not hard to repair such things. in generall, we've removed all old pins and replaced them with new ones. our equipment says that all is working fine now."

    It requires a special level of skill to do this repair. In addition to the pins, we consider additional parts one-time use, and necessary to be replaced when doing this repair. Buy at your own risk.

    Please note, Birger does not support or repair the Imperos or the controllers for the RED One cameras any longer. The last Impero was sold in 2010, we ran out of replacement parts inventory in 2014, and stopped servicing these in 2016.
    Erik Widding
    www.birger.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Member Ramasses H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by Erik Widding View Post
    Look very carefully at the picture... you do not want to buy this unit, one of the lens pins is broken. I did message the seller on eBay, and he responded "it is not hard to repair such things. in generall, we've removed all old pins and replaced them with new ones. our equipment says that all is working fine now."

    It requires a special level of skill to do this repair. In addition to the pins, we consider additional parts one-time use, and necessary to be replaced when doing this repair. Buy at your own risk.

    Please note, Birger does not support or repair the Imperos or the controllers for the RED One cameras any longer. The last Impero was sold in 2010, we ran out of replacement parts inventory in 2014, and stopped servicing these in 2016.
    Good catch, while I highly recommend the mount I wouldn't touch a broken item.
    RED Raven V-Lock Base I/O. Former RED ONE MX BT Owner http://www.imdb.me/ramasseshead
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    31
    I ordered a new Leitax mount because it is hard to find a used EF mount for R1x. This is link: http://www.leitax.com/Leica-lens-for...a-cameras.html

    665 Euro incl tax and shipping.

    Cheaper than a used Birger Mount and I just need a dumb mount because I use other lenses (not Canon) with EF mount.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts