Thread: Monitoring

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1 Monitoring 
    Senior Member greg filipkowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    | LONG ISLAND | NEW YORK | MIAMI | EUROPE |
    Posts
    633
    question , my scopes are fine but image/skin overblown in the monitor, is there a way to adjust that?
    I purposely shot it this way with no light to show the dramatic over blown on monitor.



    NEW YORK | MIAMI | LONG ISLAND | EUROPE |
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Shaeden Gallegos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    124
    Hey Greg!

    You can check the "Log View" to see what is really being captured. I think the blown out might be a combination of the REC. 709 output with Medium Contrast and shooting in LL at such a high ISO. Doesn't mean it's actually going to look like that.
    You don't have to see something to believe in it, but you have to believe in something to see it.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    REDuser Sponsor Gunleik Groven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    13,324
    ISO doesn't blow out your RAW exposure... (But of course, if you somehow decide to actually finalise it this way, highlights will be gone)

    Unneccesayr high ISO will add a fair bit of noise, tho'
    Life is good. So is RED...


    http://quine.no
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member greg filipkowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    | LONG ISLAND | NEW YORK | MIAMI | EUROPE |
    Posts
    633
    the image is perfectly fine, I did tests on that, I would just like to be able to monitor it accurately.
    NEW YORK | MIAMI | LONG ISLAND | EUROPE |
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Jacek Zakowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,221
    Why don't you just lower the ISO, the camera captures the same no matter what ISO you use-it's a RAW camera...
    Jacek Zakowicz, Optitek-dot-org, jacek2@optitek.org
    Professional Broadcast and Digital Cinema Equipment
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,002
    If you want to make it darker on the monitor just lower your ISO...
    Noah Yuan-Vogel | noahyv.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3,529
    Greg,

    Could you post a .R3D frame of the image in question?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member greg filipkowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    | LONG ISLAND | NEW YORK | MIAMI | EUROPE |
    Posts
    633
    Yes I know I can lower my iso, been shooting the MX for 7 years, but sometimes you have no choice but film with high iso, that is the purpose of the gemini. Trust me its not only me, there is couple guys that I met said the same thing, they cant monitor it, they have to drop the iso but then you cant see the whole image. I'm talking about strictly monitoring in the red LCD - the image of r3d is prefect, not to mention I love my gemini.
    NEW YORK | MIAMI | LONG ISLAND | EUROPE |
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Jacek Zakowicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,221
    again, whatever you do with your ISO DOES NOT affect the raw footage- only monitoring...
    Jacek Zakowicz, Optitek-dot-org, jacek2@optitek.org
    Professional Broadcast and Digital Cinema Equipment
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    271
    That looks really weird. Can you check your CDL and other settings that they may be maxed out? Also the monitor settings maybe?
    Red EPIC-W #003307 "Annabelle"
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts