Thread: Configuring and balancing a WEAPON on a RONIN-MX...

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1 Configuring and balancing a WEAPON on a RONIN-MX... 
    Senior Member Dave Draper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    456
    Are there any guides out there on how to configure and balance a Weapon on a Ronin-MX?

    We don’t own a Ronin-MX yet, but are thinking about going down this route, as the Ronin 2 and Movi Pro are out of our price range at the moment.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Tim Morten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,019
    Haven't tried the MX, but interested to see what new gimbal options emerge at NAB. I expect ay least the Moza Air X, and hopefully some new announcements from DJI and Freefly.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Dave Draper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    456
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Morten View Post
    Haven't tried the MX, but interested to see what new gimbal options emerge at NAB. I expect ay least the Moza Air X, and hopefully some new announcements from DJI and Freefly.
    That’s true. I’d totally forgotten how close we were to NAB. Probably best to wait, then. :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Grzegorz Gill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    415
    I owned an mx and balanced my epic w at the time no problem. But you need to buy cinemilled tilt arm extensions, longer baseplate, and counter balance. Plus the dji power distributor and a p-tap to red lemo power cable. It works, but a pain in the ass. Best bet is get a used movi pro for around 5k. What I spend on my ronin mx to balance and power a red correctly was around 3k in the end.
    Modest Helium Kit + Pro Primes
    -GG
    ggcinema.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Bangkok (recently)
    Posts
    36
    You would also need jet pack as the lemo powercable goes sideways and blocking the tilt and the balancing. I had all the Accesories but ended up selling it and I got a Ronin 1 which works fine out of the box and you can pick up used one these days for similar price like an Mx.
    Obviously things are getting trickier if you have ambition to put on some heavier glass then you need the cenemod extensions and counterweights. Still Movi is your best investment if you can stretch your budget a bit.
    Director, Cinematographer, Photographer. www.richweisz.com
    DSMC2 Helium S35.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    283
    Do yourself a favor and get the movie v-mounts sideplate. We use it on our old Ronin 1 and even can put the red zoom 17-50 with motors and video TX on it. The v-mounts let us run the cam for 90 minutes and don't fuck up the motors.
    Weapon CF Monstro #1119, Weapon Helium, Epic-X #7926 BAM, Raven #220
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Yes way better to get a used Ronin 1 than a new MX. Best I find the ronin XL. Its a beast. those batteries runs the camera and gimbal for serious amount of time and the motors are so strong it does not really matter if you just half ass balance it but price is different ofcrouse.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se/axis
    VFX / Flame / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member DC Chavez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    468
    I have a used Ronin M for sale. Used to run my Epic Dragon on their with Canon L Glass. No problems with balancing and I would get almost an hour of runtime out of each battery...

    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...mp-accessories
    Los Angeles | http://www.dcchavez.com | Helium 8K S35 #6284 | Helium 8K S35 #4573 | @dcchavez
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Michael Lindsay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    2,688
    ... I am based in London and have a Ronin 1 I probably should sell as we never use it (with some cinemilled accessories).. if you want to try it out feel free to hit me up... I have a little studio
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1yh...ew_kqLoYJPOloA
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=15H...-guoRypswKOrTT
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1K7...Sxjz7El2kOCWBG
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=16w...4LE1ZlKvwlSoRf

    It took a little bit of dialing in but I have been able to get my scarlet-w running nicely with a ronin-mx. really like the focus control and start stop record with the thumb controller. If I knew how much of a pain in the A$$ it was going to be from the start I think I would have saved a little more and gone a different route. All and all it has been working really good for me.
    Last edited by Enrico Pavia; 11-19-2019 at 01:37 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts