Thread: Zeiss 21-100vs...?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Zeiss 21-100vs...? 
    Hey guys! Trying to figure out a cine zoom. I'm a snow/outdoor shooter and need to be able to carry all my gear in a pack. I own my own Epic Dragon and the company I usually am working with has a couple of Epic W's I use some of the time. I don't think I'm probably going to get a great rental rate on every job I bring it on but am the kind of person that tries hard to have their own gear in order to have it totally dialed. It's rare that I have an AC to pull focus and normally I'm one man banding or at the most will have a tripod/battery sherpa helping out. I feel that with pulling your own focus it's pretty important to have a good "feel" for your lens and going between rental options and L glass I think I'm missing out.

In the interest of budget and weight I've been using Canon L glass for the last 4 or 5 years particularly the Canon 24-105, 70-200, and Tokina 11-16. I've had no complaints with image quality but was what put me over the edge on making a change was recently renting the Zeiss 21-100 and Canon 17-120. The ability to be able to rack with a real focus throw with a skier coming at you at full speed made such a huge difference I didn't really know I was missing.

Canon 17-120
    Too expensive for my budget

Zeiss 21-100 $8,000+ (used)-$10,000 (new) +$1,000 for filters = $9,000-$11,000
    Pros:
    Pretty decent 5x zoom range
    lightweight 4.4lbs
    Still have the option (EF mount) to use my existing wide and telephoto zooms as well as my Contax prime kit
    Zeiss is probably a better sounding rental option for clients

Cons:
    expensive
    exposure ramping and a stop slower than the Red zooms
    Filter system is a pain (I already own a zip box but no 4x5.65 filters))
    Coverage on bigger sensors?

RED RPZ 17-50 and 50-150 combo $3,500 each x2 +$300 for 67mm filters +2x PL doubler $1500 =$8800
    Pros: