Thread: Rental lenses at the beach

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 Rental lenses at the beach 
    Have a client renting a lens set of mine, only to find after the paperwork has been pushed out that they're going to do some shooting at the beach. I'm sure they will take good care to keep them clean, but a bit of sand is inevitable with any time spent shooting on a beach. If I get them sent out for a cleaning I'm out all the rental downtime in addition to the cost of cleaning. What can I do to protect myself when the lens set comes back with some sand in it?

Can you turn down the rental?
    http://IronFilm.co.nz/Sound/ (Sound Recordist based in Auckland, NZ. Happy to travel too)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/SoundSpeeding

I'm not a lens tech, so take this with a grain of sand, but I don't think you could easy clean the lenses yourself

what type of lenses?
    I have to try and change the landscape, whatever it is.
    -Robert Plant

I have no experience with rental lenses or even how much this might cost to clean, but I have been doing surf photography (hanging at the beach) for many years now.

I don't think sand is your real adversary, unless the borrower is very careless. I have not personally gotten sand in or around a lens of mine and I've had plenty of chances to. What I get more concerned about is salt spray. Again, with no experience other than my own, salt spray hasn't harmed any of my equipment as long as it was wiped down in a reasonable amount of time.
    In all I wouldn't be that concerned, but does depend on how cautious the renter is.

You could also insist that anything going near sand or salt water be housed in a surf housing, that frees them up for a lot of different shots, and takes the post-shoot special cleaning out of the equation.
    Dragon 6K 'Red Sea', Helium 8K S35 ‘Safe Passage’
    Gates Deep Weapon
    Hollis PRISM2 Rebreather System
    Red Sea Pictures