Thread: Avid MC 12.3 won't link/import R3D's

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 Avid MC 12.3 won't link/import R3D's 
    Hello everyone,

I just started learning Media Composer, I'm still at the earliest stages of figuring out the interface and how everything works but I'm having a serious issue with the most essential operation - linking/importing media, specifically R3D's since it's the only type of material I work with.

Going to the Source Browser, I navigate to the R3D I want to link to - link being the key word here - and when I attempt to bring it in I instantly get the message "The file format of "(Clip Name).R3D" is not supported for import". I have installed the RED Plugin, all the metadata for the clip is visible in the Source Browser and it even opens and plays in the Source Monitor, but it just won't link.

Here's the odd thing though, as soon as I hit OK on that error message, another one pops up that says "The file (file location) cannot be imported. Do you want to link and consolidate/transcode it?". If I hit "Yes", the file does indeed transcode into an LB DNX flavor but the reason I find this odd is because, back in the Source Browser window itself, other than the linking option which doesn't work as I said above, the importing one, with all the transcoding flavor choices, doesn't either!

Does anyone have any idea what exactly is going on here???
    EPIC - X DRAGON #8215 "Allie"

Aris,

Welcome to Avid Media Composer(said in sarcastic manner). I departed Avid Media Composer at version 8.5 after using it since version 2.5. Everything was fine until I started working with Sony S-Log and especially Red .R3d files. You would think ,like with some other files, that it would give you the option to encode the files to some flavor of DNxHD / HR so that the files would be usable within Media Composer, it did with most other files.