Thread: Anyone else having Premiere freeze or crash as often as me?

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Dean Butler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by rand thompson View Post
    DJ,


    Here's a thread of good quality Davinci Resolve 16 tutorials from Youtube.

    http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthr...esolve-16-Beta

    and

    Here are two "Professional Level" training courses from Lowepost that can easily help you make the transition from Premiere Pro if you choose to.


    Editing in DaVinci Resolve 16

    https://lowepost.com/finishing/cours...esolve-16-r21/



    Fusion Essential Training

    https://lowepost.com/finishing/cours...l-training-r5/

    Rand, very grateful. Thank you!!!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member DJ Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    792
    Quote Originally Posted by Dean Butler View Post
    Yeah I have a 1080ti intel CPU windows 10... Similar on the updates but I just still have to deal with general crashes everyday. Haven't had that with Resolve (on the same system) + smoother playback.
    Have you checked on GPU-z if you are running out of VRAM ? That can happen with premiere and red footage.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1,565
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Meyer View Post
    Have you checked on GPU-z if you are running out of VRAM ? That can happen with premiere and red footage.
    Not just with red footage.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4,384
    You're welcome Dean!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,065
    Ive been using AE since COSA days.
    Fusion since Eyeon/Maya.
    Not really the same kind of app from what use AE for which is mostly Motion design.
    Fusion being a nodal system, there are some things that take too long to achieve when animating masks.

    IMHO of course.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    I too am very frustrated with Adobe and Premiere. Been using Premiere for 20 years. I mostly prefer to work in CS6. So many issues and things that annoy me in Premiere CC. Sluggish, and sticky clip movements, edits that still work like butter on the same machine in CS6. CC and the subscription model has not been good for the enduser. Adobe has no reason to fix bugs or innovate. That saying, Resolve has not been a great replacement so far. Playback is still much better in Premiere and that is very important to me when editing. The new Nvidia partnership with RED may change the playback performance soon hopefully.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Dean Butler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Meyer View Post
    Have you checked on GPU-z if you are running out of VRAM ? That can happen with premiere and red footage.
    DH Meyer, I'm not familiar with GPU-z. Can you explain a little more and I'll check it out.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Senior Member Dean Butler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Santiago View Post
    Ive been using AE since COSA days.
    Fusion since Eyeon/Maya.
    Not really the same kind of app from what use AE for which is mostly Motion design.
    Fusion being a nodal system, there are some things that take too long to achieve when animating masks.

    IMHO of course.
    Hey Eric, yeah that's been my general perception (without any experience with Fusion). The main reason I don't know that I can go totally cold Turkey on Adobe... Not Premiere, not photoshop. After Effects... Especially because we work with Agencies and large companies that share AE graphic sequences with us from time to time.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Senior Member Dean Butler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Sims View Post
    The new Nvidia partnership with RED may change the playback performance soon hopefully.
    I hear you. I wonder when Resolve and Premiere will implement the new SDK? I wonder if Blackmagic would be less motivated if they just wanted to support their blackmagic raw. But something tells me that their competitive philosophy is just to squeeze out the best product they can. Or would focussing on supporting their own proprietary codec be a way to try to boost BMD camera market share?
    I now have real time 5k FF playback in Red Cine-x with a 1080ti. Would love to see that move into the editors ASAP.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member DJ Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    792
    Quote Originally Posted by Dean Butler View Post
    DH Meyer, I'm not familiar with GPU-z. Can you explain a little more and I'll check it out.
    It's just a little freeware utility that will show you GPU usage and VRAM usage in real time.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

    You may also want to try the nvidia studio driver which should give you the best results in Adobe.

    https://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/147971
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts