Thread: 2k prores is awesome

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1 2k prores is awesome 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    3,441
    I had a client recently who wanted me to shoot 2k prores. I had never done that before, but I figured it out, and man, it's like having a whole new camera.

    Doing a shoot next week this way. Sure, r3ds are great, but for stuff where you are shooting what you are shooting for a 1080 finish, what a great option to have. Using the whole 5k chip on the Gemini so you get that big chip feel but you have ready to go easy to deal with FANTASTIC looking prores, is a winner. I kind of see why people like the Alexa now ;-)

    Anyway, it's a great workflow option when you don't need or want r3ds.

    cheers,

    Nick
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    10,000 Lakes
    Posts
    1,109
    Yes!!!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Patrick Tresch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Switzerland, Lausanne
    Posts
    4,912
    And shooting 4K ProRes?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    3,441
    Well if I was gonna shoot 4k for anything, I would probably be shooting raw. I see prores as an HD finish option where there isn't a lot of VFX, color, or other stuff going on, and it's just more or less going to be how you shoot it. But if a client wanted 4k prores, I'd shoot it. Of course it takes up a ton of space....

    Nick
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Playa Del Rey, CA
    Posts
    482
    Agreed.... I've always shot 8K raw but I tried shooting prores on my monstro and man, 8K FOV with a 2K or 4K prores file looks soooo incredible as well... These cameras are something so special.....


    John Brennick
    Sr. Compositor
    Digital Domain
    www.johnbrennick.com
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1562986/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Dominik Muench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    2,195
    yup, super clean and tasty, great stuff.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Filmmaker & Cinematographer
    Epic-W "Lucy"
    http://www.blacksun-productions.com
    http://www.instagram.com/drdominikmuench
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Timur Civan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LA - NYC
    Posts
    1,654
    Also, you can opt for Prores LT, 422, HQ, 4444 AND XQ4444

    RWG and Log3G10 in 4444 honestly holds a LOT of info... XQ just kicks it up a notch.

    So long as you dont clip its all there.

    The downsample from 8K gives you 2 stops noise protection. Downsample from 5K gives you about a stop. So you can push your ISO even harder.

    I shot 8K at 3200 ISO and looked great in 1080p4444.

    OH, AND you can do up to 119.somethingsomethingFPS even in XQ.
    Director Of Photography
    RED Weapon Helium - Gemini
    --Official Sigma Pro--
    www.TimurCivan.com
    Timurcivan@gmail.com
    9175894424
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Tommaso Alvisi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    2,140
    I often shoot in 2K 4444XQ on 6K WS on DSMC2 Dragon and it's clean at 1600 ISO and even up to 3200 ISO if the scene is not too dim.
    TOMMASO ALVISI | tommasoalvisi.com
    Weapon 6K Carbon Fiber #1605 aka qp
    instagram | twitter
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Brendan_H_Banks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    875
    Yeah this is a huge asset to have. Honestly I would kill to open up 4k 4444 at higher fps but I understand that takes some major retooling. Maybe DSMC3. Options are great to have and I think Red has always been about that. Though now post houses seem to be more open to R3D when they don't have to transcode for the offline themselves (I make proxies in-cam).
    Brendan H. Banks
    DP
    Epic-W Helium #796
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for posting this thread. This makes sense to me. I've tried to convince my clients to do some testing and perhaps shoot a project on my Monstro @8K using the PRORES @2K 4444. I'm not sure why I was poo pooed without even testing. I'm glad to see other people are doing this, it might help to make my case easier for me. To have an awesome camera like the Monstro and not use it because clients are afraid of 8K files (which I've explained are not as overwhelming as they think) is simply a shame.
    Vision Bridge Media, LLC
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts